To Essex, MT - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2024

To Essex, MT

Heart 0 Comment 0

After I changed our lodging reservations last night, I spent too much time perusing different weather apps, second guessing the decision. Saturday was supposed to have rain in the afternoon, and increased wind the later it gets in the day. 

When we woke up in the morning, it was sunny outside. Hurray! Jacinto is not a morning rider, much less if there isn't obvious signs of why he should get moving.

The California crew wanted to be in front of the same weather. They were off at 9:15. We said our goodbyes. Hopefully we can actually ride together again some day.

While we were outside chatting, the sky clouded over, and it was obviously not warm. Jacinto moaned and groaned and put on his thick tights, gloves, and a jacket. He had taken the panniers off for the climb yesterday. Now Jacinto said that the contents aren't in the right places. That's one thing about touring. You can't carry too much stuff, and there's a limited number of places to look for what you can't find.

We were out the door much more quickly than I expected. It was downhill all the way back to West Glacier. We saw several E bike company vehicles heading up with bikes. I hope the weather was kind to them. The forecast doesn't look good. At West Glacier, Jacinto stopped at the grocery. He has been spiking his coffee with hot chocolate to cover up the lack of real cream. He needed to restock. I told him I would keep going, as now we started climbing and I was sure to be slower.

Now we were on busy Highway 2. There wasn't much shoulder and I felt traffic was too fast and often unnecessarily close to me. Jacinto had a red truck honk at him and I had a white Sequoia honk at me. Vehicles would typically go past in convoys. Usually with a motorhome at the front of the line, making everyone impatient. In-between bursts of cars, the silence was pleasant.

Jacinto and I have had many conversations about how sunshine makes the day better. Any day, not only a riding day. For one, sunshine is good for about ten degrees of warmth. I was barely warm enough. I could use some sunshine. I didn't want to put on more clothes, because I was already sweating in my coldness. 

I gave myself a pep talk. This could be a much worse day. How many stupendous cycling days in a row is one person allowed? Perhaps I should adjust my attitude and be happy with a cloudy, windy, high traffic day. It could be worse - it could be even more windy, and it definitely could rain!

Something I was happy about is the uphill didn't seem so up. My legs were tight this morning from yesterday's effort - but they were in the game today.

I was watching the clouds ahead of me. They looked threatening. Behind me was an enticing patch of blue sky. I'd sure love that blue sky right on top of me.

I counted down the miles to the motel. I knew we were out in the middle of nowhere, and they have an attached restaurant.  What more do we need? Jacinto wanted a soda pop machine.

I checked in at the restaurant. There were three people inside. A white man, an Oriental woman, whom I presumed to be his wife, and an older Oriental woman (mother in law?) who was making homemade dumplings. The special for today is BBQ pork fried rice. I'm hungry already!

I had been wondering if Jacinto had a flat tire, or what was holding him up. I wanted to hurry and get in the shower to warm up. I hung my vest over the railing at our room, to mark our location. I had just got in the shower when I heard the door squeak open. Then a hand came around the shower curtain. I told Jacinto he was too funny - what if I had truly been startled and fallen in the bathtub!  

I would have gone for lunch and dinner both, but Jacinto wanted to eat chips and salsa, and go for dinner later. I ate a banana with peanut butter. Jacinto likes reducing his food load, but he also doesn't like to be out of food. Right now he is all out of leftovers and is down to snacks. That's not a good position. 

I had to google the instructions for the Carrier heat pump in our room. We couldn't get the remote to work. Now it is working. Jacinto was going to do without a heater, but it is 50 degrees out there right now. Tonight is bound to be colder.

We had both been in about a half hour when the sun started shining. How nice! The next thing we looked, it was POURING rain. That was very good timing. We would have been drenched. Suddenly I was much happier about my day. Rain hadn't been a big threat, as long as we traveled early. I didn't realize how finely we were cutting it. Now it's an hour later, and the rain has finally quit. There are big puddles everywhere.

Montana makes sure tourists know about bears and huckleberries.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Way out in the middle of nowhere - eggs!
Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s a gloomy day, my mood matched.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Janice BranhamGloomy yes, but still pretty spectacular
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
We are still following the Middle Fork Flathead River.
Heart 6 Comment 0
We saw several rafting company vehicles drive past. These people are crazier than we are. I bet that water is COLD!
Heart 5 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauWhen I was younger, my dad bought a rafting trip for he, my brother, and I on the Flathead. It was a ton of fun.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauThat does sound like a great time. Even better if it’s sunny and above 50 degrees!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I was happy to see this blue sky behind me. I had about 30 seconds of sunshine, just as I pulled into the parking lot at the finish.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Scott AndersonYou look cold!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I saw these in a few places today.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Genny FoxDoes anyone know what these are?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Genny FoxBear grass I believe
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltBeargrass is correct.

https://montana.plant-life.org/cgi-bin/species03.cgi?Liliaceae_Xerophyllumtenax
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
This is home for tonight - Glacier Haven Inn.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We didn’t take many scenery photos today.
Heart 6 Comment 0
After we arrived, the sun was shining. The next thing we looked, rain was bouncing in the parking lot! We had been in maybe 30-45 minutes. It really came down for about ten minutes, and had been raining steadily since. We would have been soaked!
Heart 4 Comment 2
Keith AdamsReminds me of the day I arrived in Cody, although the timing for that one wasn't as tight. I was *so* glad to be snug and warm in my hotel room watching the rain and hearing the wind moaning in the ductwork, instead of being in a tent at the KOA on the other side of town, or worse yet somewhere out on the road.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonCongrats on your perfect timing!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 508 miles (818 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Genny FoxIt was great seeing you both and hopefully it won’t be too long for repeat! Hopefully the weather will cooperate with you for the next several weeks…
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m glad you made it in dry!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago