To Deary, ID - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2024

To Deary, ID

Heart 1 Comment 1
Gregory GarceauYou're riding that Highway 3 route we discussed a while back. Thanks for describing what I missed when, due to forest fires, I took an alternate route from Lewiston up to Moscow.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

We should always tell the truth, right? We were quite charmed by our little camper in the woods. Until we went to bed. Only one person had room to get out. The other person was stuck against the wall. I pointed out that I might be the outside person, because I get up at night for the bathroom. But, Jacinto didn't want to be stuck next to the wall. The first time I got up, I climbed over him. Waking him up. I had to walk outside to the composting toilet. I was pleased that I managed to go back to sleep. Remember all of that hydrating I was doing, because I hadn't been peeing? Yes, that water finally started flowing. I had to get up twice more. Jacinto was unimpressed. Although he did follow directions and 'guys can pee on a tree' if they want. He got a kick out of that. Jacinto said the camper was a great adventure that he didn't care to repeat. The food sure was good.

We were awake early. Our little camper didn't have a single curtain. The sun was up by five AM. We kept rolling over, but it was difficult to sleep.

Breakfast delivery was at 8. Justin arrived at 7:59 - I wonder if he was a military guy, back in the day? I asked if the rest of the family was eating this well, or did they get Cheerios. He said they had gone to Bovill last night  to watch their 5th of July fireworks and everyone was still asleep.

I ate half of the omelet and got on the road. It was chilly where we were in the trees. I was plenty warm as soon as I got down to the main road, in the sunshine. 

There was a climb once I hit the pavement, just to remind my legs what cycling should be about.

Today was an excellent riding day. It was the most traffic free riding we've had since I don't know when. I was somewhat wondering about people heading home from the mountains. Perhaps Highway 3 isn't a common route. Certainly over by the lakes was busy with plenty of people playing.

I was right at mile 20, just getting started on the big climb for the day, when I came around a corner and saw a white van with E bikes on the back. There was a couple standing outside that I recognized from the B&B from Harrison! They had recently retired and this was their first big trip. They asked me several times where Jacinto was. I get that question quite a bit - I always say that I'm slow, so I start early and he catches up. Which is a true statement. This morning I said he was probably still drinking coffee. They topped me off with ice. I felt I had a new lease on life after that. Ice makes climbing almost enjoyable. When Jacinto and I were discussing the day - he said the couple had gone past him. Why had they gone past when they 'knew' him? And didn't mention to me that he was trying to thumb a ride down the road. We will never know the answer.

I hadn't gone any distance at all before there was another car parked with a lady outside. Heck, do I have a fan club? Then I saw Jacinto get out of the passenger side. What's going on? He had broken a crank at the 'eye' where the pedal screws in. He was only four miles into the day. Susie passed him, and then turned around and went back. They managed to stuff his bike and four heavy panniers in her sedan. She had left the house planning to drive ten miles to the mercantile and post office. Instead, she agreed to take Jacinto to Deary, where he could check and see where the closest bike shop was. In the end, she gave him a ride another 25 miles to Moscow, which is a college town. The first bike shop couldn't help him, but the second one did. $55. for one installed Sugino crank arm. I'm puzzled why they didn't go ahead and install both, so they would match. Now Jacinto has one silver crank arm and one black (Origin 8). He says he doesn't care, as long as he's able to ride. 

My day wasn't near as eventful as his. I had an enjoyable, but ordinary ride into town. I went the wrong way on Idaho Street, and had momentary thoughts of airbnb scams, but I went the other direction and found the house. We have a screaming deal on a huge house. I suppose after the host has a few more clients, the price might go up. We would love to have this place every night.

Jacinto carried all of our leftovers, even the nachos. I told him leftover nachos are too soggy. The solution? When you have a kitchen (we do), chop up the nachos and heat them in oil. Then add several eggs and make a scramble. It was actually pretty good! The host left a box of ice cream bars in the freezer - I had an ice cream for dessert.  We've washed our clothes in a machine AGAIN! We are so spoiled. 

Tomorrow we have routing choices. 58 miles with little climbing, and a flat run along Highway 12 into Orofino. Or, 43 miles with about half back road riding. The only downside is a nasty three mile climb with 1,250 feet of climbing. 8-9-10 and even 12% grades. As it stands, I think Jacinto is taking the short route, and I'm taking the long one. There's a heat warning here. As Jim Fitch says - it's climate whiplash! I hope to be out the door at 7 AM tomorrow. The early cyclist beats the heat. I have two water bottles in the freezer as we speak. 

We canceled one omelette. It’s a good thing. We had so much food!
Heart 2 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauIt is important to tell the truth, but despite its shortcomings, that trailer still looks charming to me. I'm not a breakfast guy, but I'd eat that breakfast.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauIt was a good omelet, definitely not related to those plastic eggs at the chain motels!

The camper was really cute, and would be nice for one person in the bed. Or, maybe two people without nighttime bathroom issues . . .

I think it's odd they even sold Jacinto one crank arm. Don't they come in pairs?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
A farmer’s work is never done.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This train tressle is out of round poles.
Heart 2 Comment 0
These were nailed to one pole. I wonder what the background story is.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This sums up Idaho to me - patriotic and independent.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Genny FoxDepends on how you define “patriotic”
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Genny FoxI just saw a flag in a cafe window in Orofino which said Patriots vs Stealers - hanging next to a let’s go Brandon flag.

That was not what I had in mind when I wrote the caption.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
There were children’s motorcycle races going on here, although it says fossil dig.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This couple stayed at our B&B in Harrison. They recognized me and pulled over. They topped off my water with ice. I was like a new woman after that!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Susie Fair turned around to rescue Jacinto. She was just at a 4th of July party at our Airbnb host’s house. She is 81.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a wonderful person!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Typical scenery for the day. It was a great ride. Low traffic,and good roads.
Heart 3 Comment 0
What is this?
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old school bus made into a slide?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bovill was a cute little town of 250. Our host said they do fireworks on the 5th and put on a good show.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Our home for the night. A real airbnb find. I expect the price to go up after the host gets more experience. 4 bed/4 bath and only $200. Wouldn’t we like this one every night!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The living area. Best of all, it has a washer/dryer.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI’m glad you got such a great place to stay after all your problems!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I haven’t even gone upstairs. Jacinto went, hoping for a king size bed. He didn’t find one.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The movie theatre in Moscow. Jacinto’s only photo for the day.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Now Jacinto has a black crank arm and a silver one. He did not take a photo of the broken crank. That’s a pity.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauTell Jacinto that mis-matched crank arms, in my opinion, are pretty cool. And, as he said, the main thing is that he was back on the road.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonI’m with Greg. Very classy! He’s really lucky someone took him under her wing.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 1,197 miles (1,926 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0