To Challis, ID - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2024

To Challis, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm letting you in on my touring secret - bing cherries! They are what turned my day around today. I was out the door an hour late. It was cold in Stanley this morning! 55 degrees when I left at 8 AM. I had to zip my shirt all the way up and tuck my sleeves into my gloves. Riding in the shade was not appreciated this morning. Riding in general was not appreciated. My legs didn't hurt when I got up,  but I didn't have any zip either. I was still mentally pouting about not getting a day off. Even the slightest uphill made me downshift WAY down. My legs were going through the motions, sans power.

The first 20 miles of my ride were through outstanding country - I'm running out of superlatives - insert several of them here. At mile 20 I stopped at a roadside potty, then pulled out the last few of the cherries. I have to give them the credit, because I don't know what else happened. Finally my quads loosened up and small inclines ceased to feel difficult. I started looking around with interest rather than in an obligatory manner.

Yes! This is a great last day - cruising  downhill along the Salmon river. What a wonderful last day. It was purely by accident that our first day and last day were both 57 miles of downhill. If you'd like to experience the same, ride a counter clockwise route starting in Challis!

Once I ate the cherries, the miles ticked off satisfactorily.  Highway 21 the past couple of days and Highway 75 today have been recommendable bicycling routes. Highway 75 ended at 93. I took a left and had a two mile climb into town. I was really, really dreading this climb, and last night had asked Jacinto if he would sprint past me into town, get the van, and come back and pick me up. He looked at me as if I were joking, but I totally wasn't. In the light of day, I had to laugh at myself. What RWGPS showed as a giant climb at the end of the day was a couple of clicks on the shifter after eating cherries. 

You know what I've quietly been thinking for days? I have only had one flat the entire trip - that was a front flat back in Pinnacle that I discovered in the room in the morning. If you have to have a flat, that's the way to have one. Remember the beginning of the trip when I was practicing and practicing changing the rear Rohloff wheel? I never had to do that this tour. Whew. But, I was prepared! I have Gatorskin tires on this bike. They seem to be very popular, and I'm joining the crowd. We've ridden through glass and reread tire wires for days on end. Jacinto has been pumping up his rear tire each morning, for about two weeks. He uses the ever popular Marathon Plus tires. 

As I pulled up to the motel, I could see my van parked around the side. It didn't go the way of the restaurant employee's Crosstrek yesterday!

Linda and I chatted about the tour, the fire, and how nice it is to sleep in your own bed with your own pillow. I walked my bike to the back of the property to the same room we had before. The door was cracked?  The room hadn't been cleaned yet. Well. I went over and started the van. It did start. I drove to the office. Look at me. Linda moved me to a different room. When I got out of the van, I saw that I'd walked through the weeds and tracked a bunch onto the floor mat. I'm glad I cleaned them right up, because I picked out six goatheads! I'm extra happy I moved the van around. If I'd walked the bike over there, I might not be advertising flat free status. Just to make sure, when I walked the bike to the new room, I wiped the tires off. I have to give a plug here for my two legged kickstand that elevates one end of the bike off of the ground. This style of kickstand is extra steady. I've never had my bike fall over. I can also tilt my bike fore and aft to wipe the tires, clean the chain, etc. I teased Jacinto for several years about his heavy kickstand. Now I'm a believer.

I've showered and eaten my snack. I've got this all written up. I can see Jacinto is about a mile from town. Komoot had told him he should average 17.7 mph today on this downhill. I suspect Jacinto is taking that as a personal challenge. I'm not expecting to see many photos from him.

This has been a very good trip. We agreed last night that we would rank it in third place. #1 goes to  Spain and Portugal last year. #2 was the border to border trip in 2020. This trip was a sleeper. It wasn't on our radar as someplace we wanted to go. It was a place holder trip that got expanded in size when Jacinto decided against shoulder surgery. Then, it ended up being a charmer of a route. Who knew!

I'll come back later and add his commentary and photos.

Later  - Jacinto had a good ride in. He did not make the 17.7 mph predicted average. He saw a rafting group stranded, with it's raft on top of a rock in the middle of the river. The group was on the shore and the leader (presumably) was with the raft, trying to get it unloaded. 

We agreed traffic was ideal today. I saw one lonely logging truck. He saw none. I saw many dump trucks full of dirt, headed my direction. He saw none. It was warm (85) and windy just as Jacinto arrived. We loaded the bikes in spitting rain. 

We ate dinner at the neighboring Village Inn restaurant. It was lack luster. Jacinto said his grilled chicken had no flavor at all. They had huckleberry pie on the menu. I was going to order some, but changed my mind after we had the main dish. 

We are planning a semi early depart in the morning. I will drive while Jacinto drinks coffee and wakes up. It's a ten hour drive home. Tomorrow we will sleep in our own bed. I'm not going to look at the mail until the next day! Jacinto has five nights at home until he goes to Mexico to visit his brothers. I've been debating going to Tucson, because who doesn't love Tucson? Perhaps even I don't love Tucson in July. 

It has been a memorable tour for the right reasons. Thank you for following along.

At the finish!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Jacinto seemed to get more blue sky.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yes, definitely blue.
Heart 2 Comment 0
More mysterious here.
Heart 2 Comment 0
What a scenic finish!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto almost froze, going outside in the 55 degree weather to take my photo!
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Sawtooths are hardly visible this morning.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Scenery at the beginning of the day.
Heart 2 Comment 0
There have been a few abandoned buildings the past couple of days.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sunbeam hot springs
Heart 2 Comment 0
I have to admit I did not read the information sign to go with this structure. Can anyone tell me what it’s about?
Heart 0 Comment 0
My old truck photo for the morning.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another case of just a few of these flowers in a small area.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltGiant blazing star.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/62308/browse_photos

----->Bill
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Now I was out of the mountains and into a more arid area. If it’s not irrigated, it’s dry.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The irrigated land was striking against the red mountains.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I saw a couple of private bridges.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Included for the geology fans.
Heart 7 Comment 1
More interesting rock walls. Part of the day reminded me of Utah.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A buffalo jump. It didn’t seem tall enough. But I guess it did the job?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A whole line of good old Ford trucks!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I braved this sign to take a photo.
Heart 2 Comment 2
George HallIn the U.S., you can photograph anything you want while you are on public property (such as a highway right-of-way). It's different on private property, and the owner can ban photography on his property. In England, and in other European countries, you must be careful what/who you photograph.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo George HallThat was at the old trucks. I’m not sure if I should read the sign that they didn’t want photos taken of the trucks, or that they wouldn’t be taking camera shots, but gun shots instead.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
One last Sinclair dinosaur.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our room at the Village Inn. We were able to leave our van here for seven weeks at no charge. Linda is a sweetheart!
Heart 2 Comment 0
My last post ride snack brought my two favorite touring items together!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 1,631 miles (2,625 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Kathleen JonesGreat ride again, Kelly and Jacinto! Thanks.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonA great ride and journal, thanks for posting!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Angela NaefGreat journal, fun to follow along, thanks for sharing your ride!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
marilyn swettAnother great tour and a good read as always! You guys are amazing. Enjoy the rest of your summer and I agree that Tucson in July might be a tad hot.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierA great ride and and a fantastic journal. Congratulations to both of you!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauAnother fine tour in the books. I must compliment your route planning and your execution of said route.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauThank you, Gregory. It is a fine touring area, as you know!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithCongratulations on completing your route. We really enjoyed following your trip. You guys are so strong and determined! Enjoy the rest of your summer. I think we'll be mostly at home until the fall. It's not Tuscon hot, but Florida hot is enough to dissuade us from cycle touring in July and August.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
George HallCongratulations on completing the tour! And another fine journal of yours made it interesting to follow along.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff LeeI enjoyed following your tour while I was doing mine. Thanks for writing your journal!

And a big thanks for introducing me to the Salted Nut Roll!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago