Layover - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2024

Layover

We ended up with two rest days so close together because we kept traveling when we saw the storm forecast. We gave up a rest day at Lake McDonald and moved it to Babb. Then we ended up with a rest day, a ride day, and a rest day. Jacinto wasn't impressed, but I was just fine with having off today. I did well yesterday, and I want to build on that feeling.

Today was a perfect rest day for me. I lazed around, did nothing. I took a nap, and eventually walked to dinner. We ate at Vimy's Restaurant, which is inside of the Waterton Resort. I had the special, which was a tomato sauce with red peppers, onions, and the perfect blend of spices. With chicken and an interesting mix of vegetables. It's by far my best meal of the trip. Jacinto had a chicken sandwich, which was fine.  He had soup, which the waitress said was mostly cream. No wonder it was tasty! This was better than Trapper's, where I ate smoked meat loaf last night, and Jacinto had pot roast. That was fine, but nothing special. 

Jacinto is down to fried chicken for leftovers. We stopped at the store for a couple of breakfast items. He bought bagels to go with his peanut butter for a carb addition to his chicken breakfast. I asked him if carrying fried chicken was a good idea in grizzly country. We are still seeing warning signs for bear. He just gave a nervous smile.

Then we stopped at a dessert shop for Beaver Tails. I don't know if that's a tourist gimmick of the area, or an actual Canada thing. I can't say I've seen them before. Indian fry bread is popular all over the southwest. beaver tails and fry bread are about the same thing in my opinion.

Jacinto was so, so bored today that he's created a route with 20 extra miles for tomorrow. It is correct that it's pretty flat, but I don't see a need to ride that many miles just because. We will have big days coming up soon enough. I will enjoy the easy, cruising days while I can. As long as the wind still looks friendly tomorrow, he's taking the long route and I'm taking the direct route. Wind can really blow around here, but maybe we've paid the weather gods with our snow experience. I think we are going to get through the next few days in good shape. Right now it has warmed up enough that we have the door to the room open for fresh air.

This cute fawn was capering around with it's twin, with not a care in the world about all of the people walking past.
Heart 3 Comment 0
You know I can't resist a sasquatch. We saw wool sasquatch socks in the gift store. Those have my name all over them. I didn't buy them. Because a pair of socks would be far too heavy to carry for an extra month! My daughter was quite puzzled why I didn't buy them, didn't I like souvenirs of our travels. I could tell she didn't quite understand when I told her the travels themselves were the souvenirs. But, I do have to say - sasquatch wool socks are hard to find!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a beaver tail. It's basically fry bread with toppings. The classic is cinnamon and sugar. Ours had vanilla frosting and Oreo crumbles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the town deer. We saw 4-5 this evening.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonI wouldn’t worry about tempting the grizzlies with fried chicken. They really prefer fresh meat. Oh, wait.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonA friend told us many years ago that he's lived in Colorado all of his life and he can say with certainty that bears don't like Mexican food. It took Jacinto just a minute to get the joke!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago