Layover - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2024

Layover

We slept for ten hours last night. I think we needed the rest! As planned, I left the room only for food. I have almost finished my book. Jacinto went to the grocery and the bike shop. We went again to the hamburger place for dinner. Why? Because they served a great salad for only $5. That's the reason everyone goes to the hamburger place.

Jacinto has topped off our tires. I've organized my snacks. I'm not looking forward to tomorrow's ride even one bit. It has too many pointless ups and downs and even the cyclists we talk to say that the traffic is bad on 97. Plus, tomorrow is July 4th. My only hope is that everyone is already where they want to be and they stay in place. I've decided against trying the hole in the chainlink fence to access the interstate. Janice showed a photo in her journal from 2023. Except it isn't actually a hole, it's a pushed down section of chainlink. I don't have confirmation the access still exists, and even if it does, I don't think I could lift my big bike over it. So, around I go. It sounds like there's still some hike a bike sections. Mike and Sue rode into CDA from Harrison  just a couple of days ago and confirmed the traffic and pushing their tandem. Yea - the only good thing about tomorrow will  be the king size bed at the B&B.

Sylvia drove over from Sandpoint to eat dinner with us. We will see her again this winter in Tucson.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesSylvia of course is one of my triking sheroes. Glad you could meet up.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Kathleen Jonessheroes! Love it! Sylvia is a doll, of course. That's a common opinion.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Can you see the shell with just a little green paint left on it? In-between the bottom bracket and the eccentric (part with all of the circles). Jacinto went yesterday to Vertical Earth and they greased his dry bottom bracket and told him to ride it today. The click was still there. They tightened it more. Still clicking. New bottom bracket installed. Still clicking. Then they removed the shell, and showed Jacinto a crack about half the distance. They told him to pedal sitting down (not popular), and even if it cracks all the way, it would be noisy, but still functional until the end of the trip. We need it to last 525 more miles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mike took this photo of us back in Newport. It turns out that Mike and Sue also winter in Tucson. We probably passed each other any number of times on the bike path and never knew it! This year we are going to meet up. Tucson is the winter hotbed for year round cyclists.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0