Layover - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2024

Layover

I love layover days in pleasant towns with enjoyable lodging and tasty food. Anaconda hit all of those just right. We did feel slightly guilty about wasting a good riding day. Conditions were perfect today - low 70's, sunshine, and no wind until the late afternoon.

We went to both bike shops in town. They are only a couple of blocks apart. The first shop, Anaconda Bicycles is the 'new' shop, spacious, new interior, with tidy displays. Obviously catering to mountain biking. The owner was the only one working. He said that Anaconda isn't really a biking town. I was looking for water bottles to replace mine. He did have some logo bottles, but they were small, and had the hard rubber bite valves.  We then went to Sven's, which is owned by Peter. Are we confused yet? Peter is a thin man of a certain age, with a long untrimmed beard. His was a small, crowded one room shop. It was half work area, half stuffed full of bikes either coming/going from repair. He had a very small selection of tires for sale, and nothing else that I could see. I asked about a water bottle or logo hat. He said he did try logo hats and it took 20 years to sell them all. He gave me a shop decal for my efforts. Both men took time to chat with us and were friendly. 

Jacinto continued on to the Albertson's to buy food supplies and a few things for our next leg. I asked for M&M's to add to our trail mix. Someone has been picking the chocolate out! That might be me.  Jacinto wanted peanut butter M&M's, as he doesn't like chocolate ones. How did I not know this? Could I consider it a character flaw? We did the marriage compromise thing - he bought a share it size bag of M&M's that have plain, PB, and peanut M&M's all in one bag. I did not tell him that I think such an arrangement is an abomination. I will just quietly separate them, as they should be. 

Jacinto checked the price on salted nut rolls for me. $2.69 for the big one. I guess that's just the price. Instead I went for the store brand fig newtons for $2.99. Look at me save money. The better to spend it somewhere else.

We spent considerable time last night checking out availability of food on the days we are in town. That has become more and more of a problem. First it was a COVID thing. Now I think it's a labor shortage issue. On weekdays, almost all restaurants are closed at least one day.  In Seely Lake we couldn't find good lodging for less than two days. We ended up over the bar, with a prepaid room. I asked, and found out they are closed one day a week, the day we are there. In the meanwhile, George Hall had found a B&B down the road that would do one night stays. But, our place is already prepaid, so Jacinto thinks we should go ahead and stay.

I did make an executive decision later in the trip. We were booked at an airbnb that is a doublewide trailer in the country. The lady would drive us to town for dinner. What do we do then? Does she sit in the car while we wait? Do we invite her to eat with us? It sounds uncomfortable. I looked at airbnb again, and a new place has opened up in the area. A four bedroom/four bathroom house for $228. It's far more than we need, and double the price of the trailer. But, it's on a big climbing area, and I think I will be much happier if I can walk around the corner to dinner, rather than wonder how hitching a ride will work out, if I should offer gas money, if I will starve before I get food, etc. Sometimes spending more is worth it in peace of mind.

Jacinto watched a movie, and I read a book. I did ask him if he was going for a ride. I remember the day (years ago) when we were in Lake City, CO and he went back up Slumgullion Pass AND down the other side, turning around and coming back. I don't know how many feet of climbing that was, but it was a heck of a way to spend the day off! I pointed out that example to him, and he laughed and said he was younger then.

We were back at the Firefly Cafe for an early dinner. We were the only ones there, but several people picked up to go orders. Faye had said the owners were trained chefs, so I was expecting plates of foods. Instead it was  sandwich/soup/salad. I had a reuben sandwich. They prepare their own corn beef and sauerkraut. I would have taken half of the sandwich to go, the serving was generous, but it was too juicy. Jacinto had to help me finish it.  I had an interesting cabbage salad for a starter. Jacinto ordered fish. It came with four giant pieces. He only ate one.  They had a case of fancy desserts. I bought two to go. There was no question of eating them there. I could hardly walk out the door as it was.  For drinks, they served Tractor Craft Beverages, which are carbonated, but don't have phosphates. I'm not a soda drinker, but these were tasty. We tried several.  Firefly gets two thumbs up.  

Faye, from the motel, is quite a whirlwind. I wonder what she was like as a young woman. I had put the sign out on our door for no room service. By 1 PM, I brought it back in. Within ten minutes, Faye called my phone, asking if I had changed my mind and wanted service after all. Later, I had cracked the door (a small crack!) so Jacinto could get in. Faye was right over, checking to make sure someone was inside. College dorm mothers have nothing on Faye. She keeps a sharp eye on her property. That is not said in a negative manner. I would stay here again, no question.

Tomorrow looks like a good riding day. 57 miles with a high temperature of 80. Perhaps I don't need the heavy weight tights?

There were three Labrador type dogs basking in the sun right in front of the theatre door. They were black, gold, and white - very color coordinated. Faye from the motel says that the theatre is on the national historic register and that the inside is fabulous. We didn't ask to go in.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This GTO caught my eye. I had a 1969 GTO Judge for a number of years until the mechanical issues forced me to sell it to my handy uncle. He still has the car. It's worth tens of thousands now.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Wayne EstesI never heard of Salted Nut Rolls. Are they better than Payday bars? Sold with other candy bars? Hard to find?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Wayne EstesWikipedia says Salted Nut Roll is sold in the Midwestern United States, made by the Pearson candy company in Saint Paul, Minnesota since 1933 (a year after Payday bar was launched). What kind of places sell Salted Nut Roll in Montana?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesJohn Stephens introduced me to the V-8 juice/salted nut roll combo on our touring day between Pagosa Springs, CO and Chama, NM.

I've had trouble in recent years finding a V-8 juice. I've never thought a salted nut roll was an issue. They are readily available everywhere we ride. Or, were available!

My description would be that a salted nut roll has a white fluffy filling, almost marshmallow like. The Payday is a lower profile bar with a nougat made of peanut butter. I had to ask google for help on the description.

That's a combo I only eat while touring. I may have to adjust my tastes, I'm having trouble finding both of my favorites!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezI guess you're out of Salted Nut Roll country. Kind of like when I travel to places where they never heard of India Pale Ale (IPA). Those places only know about Budweiser, Miller, and Coors.
I have noticed that V-8 is no longer sold in every convenience store. But still not hard to find.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachael AndersonVery wise decision to change your lodging! The whole getting a ride to dinner and not knowing about how to get back is very stressful! We did it once and did buy the person’s dinner but it was very stressful!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago