Day 2: Riverton to Thermopolis - High Desert Rivers - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2024

Day 2: Riverton to Thermopolis

Today I could have stayed on the highway all day but I chose to start on a 21 mile unpaved rail trail. My reasoning was that the trail is shorter and flatter than the highway, and it will be a serene experience because it's across the river from the highway. Those assumptions are correct, but the trail was much more difficult than I expected.

Unsigned trailhead for the rail trail in Riverton. The first mile is paved.
Heart 1 Comment 0

20 miles of the trail is unpaved. And most of that is with very deep loose gravel. I probably pushed the bike 4 of the 20 miles. Even that was extremely hard work, with every footstep sinking into the gravel, pushing a bike with the tires sinking into the gravel. When the gravel was firm enough for me to ride, I had to pedal extremely hard just to go 5-6 mph.

Today I learned that Wyoming gravel is very different from Pacific Northwest gravel which is angular basalt that packs well and doesn't roll. The Wyoming gravel is sedimentary rocks that are very rounded. It doesn't pack well, and the rocks naturally want to move and roll. Tires don't sink into Pacific Northwest gravel-it's just a rough ride. But tires and feet sink quite deep into this gravel.

This is the only sign I saw that named the trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 3 miles of slow difficult gravel I crossed the main highlight of the trail, a bridge across the Wind river. It's quite impressive. Built in New York, shipped by rail in pieces, and assembled on site.

Impressive railroad truss bridge crossing the Wind river.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The trail also has a smaller truss bridge and several low trestles that cross washes. All of the bridges have wooden decking that is old, rotten, warped, with occasional missing boards.

Google Maps calls this Black Bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Kelly IniguezI've always wondered about old decking on bicycle bridges - if a bicycle tire could get a flat from a splinter!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezI did get a flat near the end of the trail, long after all the wooden decks. It seemed to be caused by a thorn, not a wood splinter. Maybe I just got lucky on the boards. It's easy to imagine splinters on the most warped boards.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezWe ruined a rim on one of these in Astoria years ago when the wheel slipped into a gap. Fortunately Rachael wasn’t hurt and there was a bike store nearby that could help us out.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Near the bridge I spoke to a farmer who passed me on an ATV. He seemed incredulous that I intended to pedal the entire length of the trail. I saw a couple more farmers but I never saw another cyclist on the trail.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Farmers drive small All Terrain Vehicles on the trail to access their fields. The gravel was always deepest in the areas where farmers access their fields. Apparently they add gravel during the spring melt to prevent making deep ruts. I have seen quite a few rail trails, and this was my first time to see a rail trail that prohibits motor vehicles, but is used by local farmers who drive motor vehicles, with them adding pretty much anything they want to the trail surface.

The trail passes ranches that drive on the trail for access to fields.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail has several low trestles that cross drainage washes. I had to wander to try to stay on the best boards. Riding on the boards was faster and easier than riding on the gravel.

The trail has several low trestles that cross washes. Never a railing. Occasional deck boards are missing.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Occasional sections of the trail are in cuts where I had the luxury of pedaling on a hard surface that more resembles Pacific Northwest gravel. But there were also sandy washouts where I had to push the bike with great difficulty. It's nearly impossible to push the bike through deep sand and not get sand on the chain. Sand goes airborne with every footstep.

The surface is much firmer and faster in cuts. Most of the trail is on deep loose fill.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I started on the trail in Riverton at 8:15 and arrived in the village of Shoshoni at 12:15. It took me four hours to go 22 miles, 20 of it unpaved. Four hours of very strenuous pedaling and walking.

I was also delayed on the trail to mend a flat rear tire. I swapped the tube to save time sitting in the hot sun. I never did find an object in the tire. In the evening I patched a tiny hole in the tube.

Reservoir ahead. End of the trail still miles ahead.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Shoshoni I bought a burrito at the store, but just couldn't eat it. My stomach was upset from the extreme exertion. I was able to eat it 1.5 hours later after a rest and some easy pedaling.

Church in the village of Shoshoni.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There's nothing like a gravel trail to help me appreciate good pavement. So far the roads have had good quality and clean pavement, with a wide shoulder.

Glad to be back on pavement. Big rolling hills to go downstream.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The route from Shoshoni to Wind River canyon is kind of a long slow burn, with an unobstructed view of the mountains getting gradually closer. I'm trending downstream but the route is actually quite hilly. Partly because the highway climbs high above the river to go around a reservoir.

Distant painted hills.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Clouds were building as I approached the canyon. I've been in this region before, so I know the cloud pattern is the opposite of what seems normal to me. The Pacific Northwest tends to have cloudy mornings and sunny afternoons. The Rocky Mountain region tends to have sunny mornings and cloudy afternoons.

Closer to the reservoir when approaching the Wind River canyon.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezThat's interesting that you mention the cloud pattern. I had never thought of the differences depending on the area of the country. I did have another rider point out to me that the clouds slowly gather during the day - one cloud calling all of it's cloud buddies over so they could do a rain dance on hapless cyclists as they climb the pass. That was her exact description. We were riding up the Slumgullion Pass at the time - so we had plenty to concentrate on without worrying about rain!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezThe cloud pattern is very real. West of the Cascade range, all the moisture comes from the Pacific Ocean. A "marine layer" forms in the atmosphere almost every night. During winter the marine layer stays around all the time and we never see sun. During summer the marine layer burns off in the morning and we have sunny afternoons.
Most of the country has the pattern that you are familiar with. Mornings are clear, and clouds gradually form as heat builds in the atmosphere. The chance of rain is much higher in the afternoon than in the morning.
It's helpful for a bike tourist to understand those patterns. An early start is more helpful in your part of the country than in my part of the country.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Boysen Dam, just south of the Wind River canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I've have wanted to pedal the Wind River canyon ever since I first drove through the canyon in 2015 on the way home from my Empty Middle bike tour.

Looking upstream (south) from the mouth of Wind River canyon.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The upstream mouth of the canyon is very narrow, requiring 3 short road tunnels and 1 railroad tunnel. The road stays on the east bank and the railroad stays on the west bank. There are no bridges in the canyon, except small bridges that cross side streams.

Rail tunnel visible on the left. Two road tunnels visible on the right.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I stopped to rest at a picnic area with shade. The temperature was 95F in deep shade. But clouds were building, threatening to rain.

A shade structure is welcome on a 95F afternoon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

A couple miles later it did start to rain, with a very strong headwind. I stopped at another picnic area to wait out the squall. I got back on the road after the wind died down and the rain nearly stopped, enjoying the fact that the temperature dropped to 82F. But the temperature steadily climbed afterwards, back to 95F by the time I arrived in Thermopolis.

Teepees for rafting parties in Wind River Canyon.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The highway has outstanding river and canyon views in the southbound lane, but not so good in my northbound lane. To have the best view I pedaled 5 miles on the shoulder on the wrong side of the road. It seemed safe to me. I was a wrong way cyclist, but in a separate lane 4 feet outside the fog line and 3 feet outside the rumble strip. I don't regret it because it was probably the best experience of the entire tour.

Heart 2 Comment 0
My favorite photo in Wind River canyon.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Scott AndersonGreat, but they all are. Looks like a fantastic spot as long as you stick with the pavement.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

All good things must come to an end. I was sad to leave the canyon, but also ready to get to Thermopolis because I'm tired and hungry.

Exiting the Wind River canyon looking downstream (north).
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crossing the river. Downstream from the canyon the name changes to Bighorn river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bighorn river. Thermopolis on the left. Hot Springs State Park on the right.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I arrived in Thermopolis at 6 PM. It was a very long and strenuous day, with 20 miles unpaved. I was thoroughly exhausted but somewhat mentally perked up because Thermopolis is an interesting place to visit.

Home for the next two nights is Hot Springs Hotel in Hot Springs State Park which is across the river from the town of Thermopolis. Tomorrow is a rest/tourist day. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant and had an evening soak in the hotel's sulfury hot spring pool.

Distance: 57.1 miles total, 20 miles unpaved
Average Speed: 8.6 mph
Ascent/Descent: +944/-1394 ft.

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 140 miles (225 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0