Day 13: Rest/Tourist Day in Livingston - High Desert Rivers - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2024

Day 13: Rest/Tourist Day in Livingston

The motel recommended the Northern Pacific Beanery for breakfast. It's 8 blocks from the motel, so I pedaled to breakfast. The restaurant is adjacent to the fancy old railway station. After breakfast I walked around the railway station property and tried to visualize what it was like for a visitor in 1900 stepping off the train after an extremely long journey.

I had breakfast at Northern Pacific Beanery on the property of the railway station.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Closeup of the Northern Pacific Railway yin/yang logo that adorns the building.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Across from the railway station I walked into the lobby of Murray Hotel to have a look.

Lobby of Murray Hotel. Wish I was staying here.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezAh, yes, you did visit. I knew you would.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I also went into Gil's sporting goods store next door to the hotel to buy a patch kit. It looks like the store has been in business for more than 100 years. It has a large bike section and a larger fishing section.

I bought a patch kit from Gil's sporting goods store.
Heart 2 Comment 8
Kelly IniguezHow many tubes do you carry on tour? Spare tire? Usually we have a spare tire, but this year I had the new bike, which has 700 wheels. Jacinto's bike has 26". We couldn't share, so didn't take a spare tire at all. That ended up okay. We each have two tubes and a patch kit. I had the only flat of the trip. When I went to patch the tube, the glue was dried up! It's a happy day when I have a flat so infrequently that the glue dries up. I would have been less happy if it had been more of an emergency situation.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezI carry one spare 20 inch tube and one spare 26 inch tube. And of course a patch kit, pump, and tire levers. Plus 3, 4, 5, 6 mm hex wrenches, spoke wrench, 4 inch adjustable wrench, chain tool, and 2 Fiberfix spokes. And a little bag with spare bolts and nuts, spare master link, and spare derailleur cable. I also carry a spare mirror which came in handy near the end of this tour.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezI never carry a spare tire but I start every tour with tires that I expect to last for the duration of the tour. I have done a good job of avoiding catastrophic tire failure. Maybe I'm lucky. Maybe I'm careful. Maybe both.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezI used to have dried up patch kit glue when I lived in Texas. It's less of a problem in the cooler climate of Oregon. I do check my patch kit glue before tours to make sure it has enough for several patches. Today I patched the 2nd flat of this tour.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesSince you carry a master link, do you also carry the tool to go with it?

One year, approaching McClure Pass in Colorado, Jacinto had a flat. The tire looked pretty worn, and he was carrying a brand new spare tire, a Slumgullion tire (which of course we found amusing, because I love Slumgullion pass). Jacinto got mere miles down the road when that tire had a blow out! He was very fortunate to not be descending the pass. He put the old tire back on and all was fine. The Slumgullion tire was (is?) a Rene Herse tire. $$$ - I took photos of the blowout, and the wrapping the tire came out of. No quibble about refunding the money. I was told (not by them), that they had a run of bad tires. We weren't the only ones.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezYes I carry a Park chain tool. I have only needed it once in all my years of touring.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezI don't carry the pincer tool that is used to break apart a master link. I have to do that by hand during a tour.
I do have a Park master link pincer tool at home that makes it super easy to break apart a master link.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesBack in the day, when we rode tandem with the kids, I could install/remove the kiddie cranks like a pro. Now I look back at how efficient I was with a chain tool and wonder at myself. I've tried to pinch the new master links to remove them and don't have the hand strength. I'd need a tool. I've debated buying one.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Morning light gives the only good views of the buildings on the west side of Main Street. They aren't as interesting as the buildings on the east side.

Buildings on the west side of Main Street.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezMovie theatre!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I walked the streets south and east of downtown. It has a charming neighborhood of Craftsman style houses, plus several large public buildings.

Arts Center and adjacent pavilion. Probably a former school.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lincoln School has an amazing garden.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saint Mark's New Age church.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the afternoon I took a 3 hour nap and also did some chores such as fixing a puncture in a tube, and cleaning the chain.

I left the motel at 6:40 PM and walked downtown to have dinner. Hopefully after dinner it will be late enough for good sunset lights.

Livingston Post Office.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Population of 8790 makes Livingston the 4th largest town on this tour. Livingston is a wealthy exclusive town. I imagine that the city actually tries to avoid growth in order to retain its rustic character.

Main Street again.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tonight I had dinner at the Livingston Bar and Grille. It's at the corner of Main Street and Business 90, across from the train station.

I had dinner at Livingston Bar and Grille.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I sat at a small table in the bar room and had a good but very expensive steak. Last night's steak at The Mint was cheaper and just as good.

The bar at Livingston Bar and Grille.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After dinner I walked around downtown waiting for the lights to start showing up. Livingston has many lighted signs.

Buildings facing Business 90.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Mint sign lit up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't go into Whiskey Creek Saloon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The theatre lights turned off seconds after I took this photo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Futuristic 1920's lights at Murray Hotel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Main Street twilight.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Livingston is 4500 feet elevation. Not as high as Cody, but the evening was surprisingly cool. I'm far north of Cody now.

Even the Baptist church gets in on the lights action. Unfortunately most of the lower sign wasn't lit.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Livingston is a great destination for a rest day if you can afford it. The downtown area has many interesting things to see. My only regret is that I didn't pedal a mile south to a city park to see the Yellowstone river one more time.

I didn't pedal very much today but I walked to downtown 3 times and walked around downtown extensively. More than 5 miles of walking.

Despite all the walking I felt much more energetic in the evening than in the morning. It felt like a rest day. I needed the rest because tomorrow's route to Bozeman includes the biggest climb of the tour.

Distance: 1.2 mile

Today's ride: 1 mile (2 km)
Total: 509 miles (819 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0