Day 1 - Whitefish, MT - ~ Heavy Rescue 2024 - Canada ~ - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2024

Day 1 - Whitefish, MT

Day 1 - Wake Up Whitefish, MT

Tamora thank you for making me this “flag”
Heart 2 Comment 0

It has started, a cool night in the tent.  Repacked the Heavy Rescue HR-M82 and went into town.

As I entered town my eyes got wet.  My emotions caught up with me, "I'm here finally....crazy.  I feel so fortunate and lucky to be doing another adventure - another epic journey."

Met many strangers already all asking, *where are you going...."

Meet Tom, from Libby, Montana, just west of here.

Tom
Heart 4 Comment 0

Met my first character Tom from Libby, Montana. The guy talked and talked sharing great stories about "walking in the woods", climbing mountains and yes, bears.  He told me not to worry.  He carries a gun, but only because it helps his fitness.  He showed me his SPOT tracker he was heading to climb a 6,000 foot mountain.  I asked him which one, he said I don't know, it's nothing they are everywhere.  He comes here and sleeps in his truck.  He told me I will love Canada, it isn't crazy like America.  He dated a girl from Canada, so he traveled my route many times.  He mentioned the cool temps, said it will start to get cold in a couple weeks.

Break: Two more people just asked the question....

Ok, back to the story: Anyway, Tom was a character in the good sense of the word.   He is a simple man who thinks his country is in the shitter....he just wants to "walk in the woods."

Thanks Tom for a great welcome!

And….then Walt, a local cyclist showed up and offered an alternate to the dreaded 93 route, a road with a bad reputation.  He sat down and wrote the directions done for me.  Thanks Walt!  He said there is a big ride here this Sunday if I’m back in town, they use the same route.  Hugs

Walt
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0



Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerMet a character before the first cup of coffee. Amazing man. Enjoy the expedition.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago