San Juan Loop, Intro - Great Divide, Great Challenge - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2024

San Juan Loop, Intro

Shorter trips are the best way to test your gear, fitness, and other preparations. With two weeks before we start the GDMBR I’m doing the “San Juan Loop:

Heart 0 Comment 0

As this is a trip to the US it’s an opportunity to make sure my solution for my phone plan will work and not incur the $16/day charge I would have on my default plan. It also put a deadline on getting many other things done:

  • purchasing travel medical insurance
  • bike maintenance tasks
  • actually packing everything on the bike to make sure it fits and is secure
  • setting up this journal

So despite months of preparation, last night was still a bit of rush. And a 6:10am ferry departure meant a little less sleep than ideal.

On the Ferry

This trip is an opportunity to test updating this journal along the way so I’m tapping out some notes on my phone.

Taking ferries by bike is great, but each one has its own system and I had never biked on to the Coho ferry that sails to Port Angeles in Washington State from Victoria. It all went fine and now I know the routine for any future trip.

Heart 0 Comment 0



The Route

The top image shows a route overview. I’m riding it counterclockwise, so starting with the ferry to Port Angeles and then on the Washington Discovery Trail. Washington State created this bike route crossing the northern edge of the Olympic Penninsula over the last decade or so. It’s got a great reputation and has been a big draw for bicycle tourism. I’m excited to ride it both for the experience and as an advocate for a more car-lite approach to everything. The trail only covers a portion of my route though - the rest is on what I hope are quieter side-roads.

Today’s ride should be around 125km. Tomorrow will be the big day with about 160km. The final day should be around 75km. A good test.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0