By The Numbers - Great Divide, Great Challenge - CycleBlaze

By The Numbers

Andrew and I spent some time in the Hachita Community Center and in El Paso crunching some distance and elevation numbers. We're both posting a "by the numbers" list with essentially the same information:

Weight lost: 9 pounds (me)

Distance:

Riding days: 40

Zero distance days: 1

Total Distance: 4484km

Average distance (on riding days): 112km

Max distance day: 149 km

Total Climbing: 52,721 m (6x Mount Everest)

Average climbing (on riding days): 1318m

Max climbing day: 2089 m 

Lodging:

Camping nights: 29 (including night in Banff prior to start)

Motel stays: 5 (Butte, Frisco, Chama, 2 nights in Grants, NM)

Other non-tent stays: 7 (Ovando Jail, Llama Ranch, Outhouse on Lava Mountain, Brush Mountain Lodge, Airstream at Skyline Lodge, Toaster House, Hachita Community Center)

Animals:

Coyotes: 4 (at least, plus many heard at night)

Foxes: 2 (at least)

Elk: 5 

Grizzly bear: 1 (100 yards running away at Grand Teton pass)

Deer: too numerous to count

Pronghorns: too numerous to count

Rattle snake: 1 (paved section of Great Basin)

Chipmunks: so many!

Cows: yes

Sheep: 600+/-a few

Goats: a few

Javelina: 2 

Badger: 1

Vultures: ~10

Llamas at Llama Ranch: 0

Roadkill: lots (several deer, 1 cow, 1 weasel-like thing (not sure what it was), many snakes)

Other:

Crashes: 0

Mechanicals: 0

Chains: 2 each (replaced near Jackson, WY)

Brake pads: 1 set each (we both finished with the set we started with) 

Tire puncture: 1 (fixed with bacon)

Tire flat: 1 (fixed with sealant)

Day with rain: 5 (2 bad ones) 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Kelly IniguezHow has reentry into real life been?

I enjoyed reading along with you. My evenings aren't quite the same without checking on how you and Andrew were doing. I liked reading two perspectives of the same day.
Reply to this comment
2 days ago
Peter BrettTo Kelly IniguezIt's been pretty easy so far. It mostly just feels like picking up where I left off. I'm very fortunate to have a very good life so it's not like the trip was a great escape from a terrible life leaving me dreading a return. I'm happy to get back to the things that were put on hold, and I'm looking forward to some trips, much shorter ones for a while, over the next 12 months.
Reply to this comment
2 days ago
Kelly IniguezTo Peter BrettAre you making it a personal goal to gain back the weight you lost?😉

Did Andrew lose any weight?
Reply to this comment
2 days ago
Andrew RichardTo Kelly IniguezI thought that I lost weight because I was very lean going in and more lean coming out. Turns out that I weigh the same so all the snacking kept things in check. I think I still gained muscle and lost some fat.
Reply to this comment
2 days ago
Peter BrettTo Kelly IniguezAndrew is much leaner than I am - we're the same height and I outweighed him by almost 25 to 30 pounds before we started. I'm probably healthier at this new weight, so trying to maintain it would be a good idea. I think I lost a bit of upper body muscle mass, but definitely some body fat as well.
Reply to this comment
2 days ago