Mt. Horeb to Madison - Senior Citizens Cycling East - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2024

Mt. Horeb to Madison

After yesterday’s exciting ride, we were a little leery about getting back on the trail and opted for about 10 miles on roads to avoid some of the trail.  It was a much calmer ride today.  Madison is a very bike friendly city, and we rode through the city to our hotel almost completely on trails.  Remarkably for us, we may have been temporarily confused, but we were never lost, even though signage on trails is frequently sketchy.  I ended the day with a visit with a high school friend and dinner with cousins.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Just after we got back on the Military Ridge State Trail, a continuation of yesterday’s trail, we encountered a tree across the path.  Fortunately it was easy enough to slide under and was the only major obstacle we found.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Little Library on a bike trail.  I guess it is a walking trail, too, and we were in city suburbs, but I like the image of pulling up on you bike and selecting a book. I picked up a recent Wisconsin road map, useful for those of us who still know how to read maps.

Heart 1 Comment 0

That’s the Wisconsin State Capitol dome in the background.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I’m with my Madison cousins on a walk after dinner.  This trip is well planned for mini family reunions, as I saw Jo’s siblings and family in Minneapolis and will see their father, my only first cousin, in Michigan.

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 274 miles (441 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0