Boscobel to Spring Green - Senior Citizens Cycling East - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2024

Boscobel to Spring Green

Back on the bikes at last

Today was just a perfect bike trip day.  We rode 42 to miles to Spring Green with a tailwind, on quiet country roads, in sunshine, had a nice lunch at our destination, and then Sharon and I had time for a side excursion to Taliesin, Frank Lloyd Wright’s Wisconsin home and studio.

Heart 2 Comment 0

An interesting building in downtown Boscobel, definitely not typical Wisconsin architecture.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

We rode about nine miles on an idyllic country road, including cows who posed for us and sheep getting a haircut.  The shearer left them with socks on!

Heart 0 Comment 0

We were riding in valley of the Wisconsin River and crossed the river near the end of the ride. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

The only extant Wright restaurant is now also the visitor center for Taliesin.  Sharon and I rode about three miles from our hotel to get on the final tour of the day.  I visited the Spring Green area several times when I was growing up in Wisconsin, but for reasons I can’t remember, I had never visited Taliesin.  I share Wright’s views about Wisconsin, although I wouldn’t put the pigs behind the red barn.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Here are a few views of Wright’s workroom and home.  It was a much more extensive compound than I had expected. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

I ended a fine day with a fine root beer float, with root beer homemade at the rock and roll-themed restaurant conveniently across the street from our hotel.

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 209 miles (336 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Nancy KosseffI’m finally getting caught up with your blog this evening. Great pictures. I’ll be sorry to miss you in the Madison area—tomorrow?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago