Progress. - All Roads Lead to Rhine 2024 - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2024

Progress.

Things around here seem to be moving at their usual pace before our departure six sleeps from today; and, the list of jobs and chores are slowly getting ticked off the list.

I know that the time for our departure is nearing when I'm reluctantly compelled to get into the car in search of bike boxes.  So, off to my first stop at my closest Local Bike Shop (LBS)  I went.  After parking, I strolled up to the front door, pulled on the handle, and encountered the stubborn resistance of a locked door.  I then realized it was Monday...The Local Bike Shop's Sabbath!  Noooooo.   No bike shop in town would be open on a Monday!  Bike boxes may have to wait until tomorrow

Then, I thought of MEC (Mountain Equipment Company).  It's open on Monday!  MEC is (used to be) one of Canada's proudest and most well loved co-ops, owned by members, and considered by so many, such an important place for outdoor learning, environmental protection and advocacy, and for purchasing quality outdoor equipment from knowledgeable staff.  The staff were always people who loved climbing, hiking, ecology and adventure, and it had this wonderful soul to it that I really can't describe.  Now, it's just an outdoor equipment retail store owned by some investment management company.  It's lost it's soul, in my opinion.  Even so, I had to make a stop.  

But, my encounter in the bike department with two familiar long-time employees of MEC rekindled by spirits and appreciation that there are still some remnants of the old MEC soul out there.

Not only did I get two bike boxes for free , I enjoyed a wonderful interaction with the mechanic about cycle touring in Europe.  As he recounted one of his trips and the places he had been, I nodded knowingly with a huge grin as many of these places were familiar to me also.  So, with that, a bike box success.  Progress.

So, unless there is any more relevant news to report, we'll see you all in Frankfurt.

Let's get those bikes into boxes.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott FenwickEnjoying the warm up stretch. Glad to hear MEC has still has some redeeming qualities but can't wait for the show to begin. Your route plan is a bit north of our tours lately so looking forward to it. Good luck.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Patrick O'HaraHey Scott. We can't wait for the show to begin also. For some reason, we are a little slow to get packing this year, but it always seems to come together. Thanks for following along.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago