Khiva to Bukhara; (1/x); 23/06 - From Aqtau - CycleBlaze

From From Aqtau

By Ken ..

Khiva to Bukhara; (1/x); 23/06

Thursday 23rd May, leaving Khiva 

Road leading east to Yangiariq was mainly through built up areas with many opportunities for food, water, rest etc. I bought a pile of cherries which seem to be in season. On leaving one of the towns, a car stopped and insisted he treat us to a fermented milk drink. (Probably Ayran) mixed with barley from a road side seller. The drink was a bit sour was a bit more sour than you’d from Ayran in a shop, but I think it’s meant to taste like that. At the back of my mind I had a slight worry that it might upset my stomach, but the drink was cool, and I didn’t want to offend the guy, so I ate it anyway — my stomach was fine. 

Later in the day we turned off the road looking for a place to camp. As this area is all farmland, it’s a hard to find a camp spot. We asked a farmer if we could camp, and after some confusion through with translate we realised he was invitation us to stay. 

He hopped on his bike, and we followed him. He fed us plov, quince jam, bread and tea. It was a delicious meal! He was a friendly guy and keen to chat. The five of us slept in one big room, where we ate, on comfortable lounging mats. 

Fruit stall after Khiva
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bread, butter and quince jam our host offered
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where we slept
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0