Beineu rest day; 09/05 - From Aqtau - CycleBlaze

Beineu rest day; 09/05

I did not have many expectations of Beineu as I had read this blog of a cycle tourist visiting it, which is quite disparaging if it. 

However, much just have changed since 2013, when it was written, as I have really enjoyed the day here. 

There is a busy market, where nuts, spices, fresh fruit and veg, are sold, and where I had possibly the best grilled chicken of my life. 

The market sellers do not seem to be trying to rip you off. I think we got a fair price for everything, and one of the pastry sellers insisted on giving us a free item. 

Beineu has a lot of children running and cycling around, with playgrounds and playing fields too. I guess it’s because of the oil pipeline that runs from here across Kazakhstan that started development around 10 years ago. This probably explains why there is a lot more going on here than from 11 years ago, when the blogger visited. 

The hotel is clean. It even has a Russian sauna. Unfortunately I needed to book to use it yesterday, which I didn’t, so couldn’t make full use of the facilities here. 

Nuts at the market.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Market haul. Supplied for the next leg of desert
Heart 0 Comment 0
A train pulled in to the station. After having the train line run parallel to the route for the last three days, it was nice to see it closer up!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grilled chicken, chargrilled on the outside, juicy in the inside, served with fresh salsa. Delicious.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0