To Kintzheim - French Pootle - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2024

To Kintzheim

I was ready to move on from Eguisheim. I’m good with half-timbered life now. And I was definitely done riding on cobblestones. I wasn’t done riding through the vineyards, though, or with riding through the villages. 

Today’s goal was Kintzheim, which is outside the city of Sélestat. EV 5 stayed pretty much in the flatlands but that didn’t really appeal to me. Heatmaps pointed me to a popular regional route, VV111, that ran more across the toes of the Vosges but had some steep climbs. Ha! says Big Red, what’s steep? I decided I’d decide when I got there which way I wanted to go. The old legs were tired, and so was the rest of me. I didn’t know why. The pedaling certainly wasn’t difficult, nor were the mileages. Could always do better with the hydration and nutrition I guess. 

It wasn’t until many days later that I think I hit on the answer: I had to do a lot more work than I was used to with that heavy bike and baggage, especially because I got on and off so much. I would stop for photos every half kilometer, or stop to read something, to admire the view, etc. That’s one difference from recumbent riding I hadn’t thought of training for. With my trike, I just stand up then just sit down. No negotiating with 85-90 pounds of bike while trying getting on or off or just pushing it around. I’d been getting a good full-body workout. So it wasn’t iron-poor tired blood. I was just tired. But I didn’t know that then.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen Poret“Iron poor tired blood”..oh, no the Geritol ad slogan… Thanks for letting me know how REALLY old I am, Kathleen!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

So, good-bye Eguisheim and the folks at the auberge who took good care of me and Red. There was a nice little grocery in the center of the village - open on a Sunday! - so grabbed some provisions there, saluted the stork nests across the square, and headed out.

One last look at my new stork friends atop the Chateau St-Leon. Bye, Eguisheim, you old storcka-dorf, you!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Back to the vines within a half kilometer. This couple slowed down to stay out of the photo, but I wanted them in it if it was all right with them. There was some joking about derrières as they proceeded.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Starting to see ruined chateaux on just about every bump on the mountains. Here’s one. Or maybe three.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonI remember that view with the chateau!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesI thought you might!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Turckheim, all of six kilometers down the road, was the decision point. Tired be damned. I voted for the funner way, and it turned out to be my favorite day of this leg of my trip. The ups and downs and the towns and vines and views all delighted me.

A nice window in Turckheim.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Scott AndersonTurckheim! We biked through here in 1996 on our ride from Prague to Paris. My memory of Turckheim is that we bought three bottles of wine there: one for ourselves, one for my parents, and one for. Coworker who was a wine aficionado and always wanted to see Alsace.

Besides the fact that I can’t taste anything anyway, the part of this that’s the funniest for me now is that somehow we managed to cram them all into my panniers and carry them on to Paris.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Stork nest alert. Turckheim.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was a beautiful day. Lots of people were out riding, day trippers and cycle tourers. There were also a lot of hikers, some out for the day but several looked like they were in for a longer haul. I started noticing wayfinding signs for hiking routes along with the cycling signs. They often coincided but the hiking routes sometimes went into the vineyards.  

At Turckheim I decided I wanted to take the high road instead of staying on the standard wine route. And it made all the difference. Going up!
Heart 4 Comment 3
Scott AndersonMuch the better route. Our decision Los.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauI think you always take the high road . . . and the funner way too.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesBless you, Greg.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
My only turreted tower that I got to see up close on this trip, in Kientzheim. Pretty intact city wall all around.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Now we’re above Kaysersberg. This rider tacked back and forth to get up this grade, and he appreciated his well-earned “chapeau!”
Heart 5 Comment 0
This was the grade he (and I) had just come up, and I, I had a motor, and it made all the difference.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Baby grapes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
On a nice Sunday, get the whole family out into the hills.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Katzenthal goes all in on the cat theme. Note the cat and paw prints painted in the road; they were on the entire route through the village. It also has a thal or valley. The road dips steeply after this.
Heart 2 Comment 0
⬆️ Katzenthal also gets my vote for cleanest municipal WCs.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of wineries have these “Hollywood” type signs. At dinner I drank Riesling from this vineyard.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Further up and into the woods for a little variety.
Heart 5 Comment 0
After coming down out of the trees we had to see this.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hunawihr. Note all the cyclists at the far end. It was a busy day on the route.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretLike your view of the houses better! :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
The old way to get into the vineyards.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Time for lunch.
Heart 3 Comment 0
But with these darn view blockers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
You’re never far from tourists. As opposed to us touring cyclists.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretAt least the “train travel” has some sense of style..
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Stork nest alert. Ribeauvillé.
Heart 3 Comment 0
First mention of my destination on a sign.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Why have one castle when three will do?
Heart 2 Comment 0
I rode through a portal of the past. Bergheim.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Out of the hills and down to the flats. Have we learned by now what this crop is?
Heart 2 Comment 0
A conveniently located rest area outside Orschwiller. I was running early for check-in, so hung out here until the mosquitos moved me along.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Which will come first, the rain or my check-in time? Spoiler alert: it never rained where I was.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A fierce beastie who barked and barked upon my arrival at my apartment in Kintzheim. This little gal wasn’t a whole lot bigger than my foot. Her name is Joussy.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Here’s the other fierce beastie, mom, otherwise known as Gizmo. Full size chihuahua. Also quite vocal. They both turned tail as tried to befriend them.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Gizmo and Joussy’s territory. Big Red heads into that barn in the back.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View across the street. Note the empty stork nest platform on the roof. No storks here. Wah.
Heart 2 Comment 0
View up the street.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I tried a flammenkuchen again. More my size. Still salty though. And a nice glass of wine.
Heart 3 Comment 0
To counteract the salt, I had to have this concoction, called a Liégenois. Moar chocolate!
Heart 3 Comment 0

After dinner I just folded up the tent. Tomorrow is a rest day.

Doodle done in the iPhone Notes app, using my finger.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 451 km (280 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0