To Eguisheim - French Pootle - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2024

To Eguisheim

Day 1 of vineyards vineyards vineyards. I rode almost exclusively on EV 5. That meant two things: I didn’t have to think about navigation because there were enough signs to show cyclists where to go, and there were a lot more touring cyclists, coming and going. Another warm and muggy day.

Today’s destination was Eguisheim because it was about the right distance for a next leg, and it was outside the city of Colmar. Suzanne had told me that Colmar was worth seeing, but she recommended staying outside of town. Based on the maps, Eguisheim had a really interesting medieval street layout. And the hotel I chose, the Auberge du Rempart, made me think town walls.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up early, but my host Gwenaël was up and gone even earlier. He left me the run of the house, which, because my breakfast was included, included the kitchen. I had my pick of meats and cheeses, yogurt, bread, butter and jam. Coffee. Beer.

Fresh loaf of bread waiting for me when I came down.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Oh this was a tough choice.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bye, Issenheim.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It didn’t take long to get to the edge of houses and out into the fields. There were the first of many more kilometers of vineyards I would ride through. I love riding through vineyards. I love the distinct smell of them, a little sweet, a little musty. You can almost feel how hard those vines are working to bring us good wine.

Look! Finally getting among the vines.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Up we go.
Heart 2 Comment 0
High point for today. Basel is way way out there.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heading down into Westhalten, the village we see below. Look where the road goes off to the left. This was so fun.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Let’s hear it for Agathe Bursin, hanging out her distinctive shingle as a viticultrice.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bike art
Heart 4 Comment 0
Recent addition, built 1696.
Heart 2 Comment 0

With all the other cyclists on the route, sometimes we played leapfrog. I’d stop for photos, and a cycling couple would ride by, saying bonjour. Then I’d pass them as they took a break. Repeat. In the town of Rouffach I rode down a side street and saw a couple at an outdoor table that I’d leapfrogged several times. They laughed as I passed, waving at them. There’s a nice little camaraderie on the road. 

In Rouffach, the old city wall ain’t what it used to be. But then again, it’s still there.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not a grape. St John’s wort.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The EuroVelo routes are not always bucolic. This runs along an autoroute.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Arriving in Eguisheim. It’s an official Alsace Stork Village. The Alsatian term is a Storcka-Dorf. That has a certain ring to it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived hot and sticky at the auberge. They allowed me to check in early. The building was remodeled in 2012 so it had mod cons like air conditioning, thank goodness. Being in a garret room it would have been quite warm otherwise. Yes, lots of stairs again, with a very narrow and steep staircase.

The auberge had a good restaurant, so I dined there on Poulet au Riesling avec Spätzle in the courtyard. The courtyard had a large fountain in it, taking up about a quarter of the space. 

After dinner I took a stroll around the circular streets of town. 

Partaking of the local product. The fountain is in the background.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretGreat photo..but not for biking.. cobbles..:(
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here’s some of that wall frou-frou we were talking about yesterday.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s a movie set.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Oh, so this is why it’s designated a stork village.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Stork supplies.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My auberge. I think my room was the middle two dormers.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back down the stairs I have to climb to my room. These are the upper stairs…
Heart 1 Comment 0
And these are the lower stairs ending at the ground floor. Narrow and steep. Not my favorite but I never slipped or fell so there’s that.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretGood on you!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
My room. As is meet and fit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
But wait - the lighting makes things much better.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretAnd the a/c!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 km (17 miles)
Total: 395 km (245 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0