Frankfurt - French Pootle - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2024 to June 17, 2024

Frankfurt

May 20: Sweet summer child.
Heart 4 Comment 0
June 16: Battle-scarred vet.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had a pleasant train ride to Frankfurt airport, where I was going to spend the night in a hotel before my flight tomorrow. I found the hotel shuttle no problem. Only a short wait at the front desk until I discovered that I was at the hotel I wanted to book but couldn’t. A cab ride later I was in the right room.

Sunset over Frankfurt Airport
Heart 2 Comment 0

Next morning, I got to the airport at 9:45. I arrived at my gate at 12:45, just as boarding began. In between, I was on lines with all the student groups in Germany who were taking United to the US, and today was their day. Not enough staff. The student clog affected passport control, where they had two people. On the bright side, those delays meant there was no wait at security.

On the plane, I had a row to myself. 

All was forgiven. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Emily SharpWhat a great tour this was - friends, family and pretty easy navigation! Other than the train connections and weather at the start, it looks like you had a lot of fun and managed to do it at just the perfect pace for yourself. I absolutely loved all the sketches, you are so talented! And to have a whole row to yourself on the plane home - what a way to top it off! I do the big jump over the Pacific soon and would feel fantastic if just the middle seat is not occupied :-)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Emily SharpThanks, Em!

You must be pretty excited about your upcoming trip to see the parents and more. Wishing you an empty seat next to you.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago