Day 119: Packing up - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2010

Day 119: Packing up

Today was a preparation day for leaving day.

Firstly, I cycled up Signal Hill and sent my last message using my Spot Messenger device. From there, I scouted out the route to the airport to make sure that I would not make any wrong turns on the way out tomorrow.

At the airport, I moved my ticket up a day. It was somewhat expensive, but it would give me a chance to get a haircut and relax at home for a day before returning to work on Monday. Westjet gave me a plastic bag to put my bike in the next day. On the way back, I stopped in at a Canadian Tire and bought a duffel bag to pack everything into when I leave. This should help reduce the stress when I fly out tomorrow.

Once back, I walked back towards Signal Hill and visited the geology museum. It was all well done. There was a special exhibit on the Titanic which was interesting.

When I arrived back at the hostel, I found a note from Neridah. She's leaving early in the morning tomorrow and broke her wrench when removing her pedals. I was able to quickly take off her pedals with my pedal wrench. I probably shouldn't carry a full sized pedal wrench, but I had a bad experience disassembling my bike at an airport once. Additionally, I also use it to hammer my tent pegs in when I set up my tent in the evenings.

I regret rushing through St. John's and Newfoundland in general. In 2001, I was anxious to get started and spent a minimum of time here. This time, I was tired at the end of a long trip and anxious to get home. I would like to return here sometime when I am not in a hurry.

Signal Hill:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=47.57045,-52.68164&ll=47.57045,-52.68164&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Signal Hill. Marconi sent the first wireless Trans-Atlantic signal from here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking towards Cape Spear from Signal Hill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The City of St. John's.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mile One of the Trans-Canada Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some of the colourful houses in St. John's.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 km (11 miles)
Total: 14,386 km (8,934 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0