Day 100: Champlain to Levis - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2010

Day 100: Champlain to Levis

It was a long day today, I was cycling into a headwind all day - 20 km/h gusting to 40 km/h. It took me a while to get through Quebec City to the ferry. I had to make use of my school boy French to ask for directions. When I got off the ferry ($3), I went straight to the tourist office. Sadly, it was closed. I cycled around town for a bit trying to find a hotel to stay in. In a pinch I could have stayed in a campground but I really wanted to avoid that. I eventually figured that it would be a good place for a hotel on the highway out of town. Sure enough, there was one there and it even had a sign saying 'Bienvenue Cyclistes'.

I stayed at motel on hwy 132 ($84.10).

There is rain predicted overnight with a possible thunderstorm in Quebec City. The weather forecast is slightly better for Riviere du Loup. I would like to end up there tomorrow and stay in the hostel. I no longer feel like camping (although I could still do it if required). The weather now seems to be either wet or cold or both.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=46.81974,-71.13269&ll=46.81974,-71.13269&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

A church in Quebec.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yet another church in Quebec - every town has one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View at the 12,000 km mark of the trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chateau Frontenac from the ferry.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 128 km (79 miles)
Total: 12,090 km (7,508 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0