Summer C&O 100 - Not my day - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2024

Summer C&O 100

For the last four years, I have been doing a ride from Frederick, MD to the Washington, DC Mall—a one hundred-mile round trip. As you may have heard me mention before, I love riding the C&O Canal due to its scenic views and wildlife. Riding there lets me relax or go hard at it if I feel the need. You also get to meet interesting people with different levels of biking experience.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today was no exception. I caught up to Jason, a water biologist from Annapolis who has been staying around the White’s Ferry area testing the water for DNA samples to see if the area around the Potomac has the much-hated snakehead fish species. He mentioned that they used to try fishing for them, but it would take hours and sometimes they would find nothing. Testing for DNA samples is more efficient now. Once we were done discussing the reasons for his current visit to the area, he mentioned that he had not been on his bicycle for over two years and that he was really enjoying the trail and would definitely come back for a longer ride. His goal for today was twenty-five miles, but once I mentioned my miles for today, I think he might have gotten inspired and rode longer since he tailed me for a while before I had to stop for a restroom break.

After we parted ways and I rode closer and closer to DC, I could feel today was not going to be one of my best one-hundred-mile rides this summer. For one, I ran into two detours that made me really consider turning right back around instead of continuing. However, due to consecutive postponements of the ride, I decided today was the day to finish the C&O one hundred I have set myself to do every summer until I’m not able to do so.

As fatigue set in and I was about 10 miles away from my goal, I ran into a very fit young man who was running in the opposite direction with no water, no shirt, and only a very proud tiny pair of American flag shorts on him. I have to admit, I’m not sure how I feel about wearing the flag like that, but that is the beauty of this beautiful nation. We all are free to wear, think, and practice our beliefs without any repercussions. But what we all are not free to do is to assume someone is a certain way before we even get to know them or give them a chance. I was about to find out two miles down the trail as I got my first-ever flat on the C&O.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I sat there struggling to change the tube that I luckily brought with me, about four different people went by and asked if I had everything. I naively would quickly respond “yes,” but little did I know how hard these gravel tires are to put into the rims. As I kept struggling to figure out a way to put it back in, here came again the same fit young guy wearing American flag shorts. As he was about five steps past me, he turned around and said, “Do you need some help?” I replied, “I think I almost have it,” but he quickly bent down and started helping. I was so glad he did because even with his kind help, we struggled a bit to get it back on.

And as quickly as he bent down to help me, he quickly left, only giving me just enough time to yell “thank you” as he ran off. As I was setting the wheel back on the bike, I sat there thinking, man, we are so quick to judge, assume, and even try not to associate with others because of their beliefs, the way they look, or their political views. And to that, I say, man, I love cycling, I love this country and its people, and most of all, I love its freedoms.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 miles (132 km)
Total: 82 miles (132 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0