Wallkill Valley Railtrail - Failure and Sucesss - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2024

Wallkill Valley Railtrail

 A great summer day for riding, temps in the 60’s in the morning with a high in the 70’s on a partly-cloudy day. I left my home and chatted with Rebecca at the New Paltz bridge. Then I started losing air, so I swapped out the tube in the front tire.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Had lunch in the Disgruntled Chef, left hungry and $20 dollars lighter, a disgruntled customer. It’s better than the nearby greasy pizzeria, but…

The trail became mostly single track after Gardiner. It went on the road around the prison and then jumped back into the woods. In Sullivan Township, the road was paved. At the trail's end in Montgomery, I rode Route 17K to the Winding Hills County Campground. 17K was busy and speedy but it had a wide shoulder. Not being a county resident I was charged $40 for the tent spot. (No charge for the hills.) The bathroom was clean and the shower was hot. I was in Site 50 with a partial view of the “no swimming” lake. Site 3 may have been a better choice, closer to the bathroom and nearer to the water spigot. I did 35 miles today, mostly trail concluding with hills.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 35 miles (56 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0