The Idea - Failure and Sucesss - CycleBlaze

The Idea

 Last year I pedaled part of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area (DWGNRA) and was keen to explore more of it. I wanted to leave from Kingston, NY, head toward Port Jervis and explore the Jersey side of the DWGNRA. My research led to a backpacking.com route. Joe at 718 Outdoors also runs a trip through the area. Ride With GPS had a few routes. I also wanted to see where the Wallkill Valley Rail Trail ended up.

My thought was to work my way to Port Jervis on a different path than Route 209, which I did last year. My tentative plan was to ride down the Wallkill Valley Rail Trail, camp at Winding Hills Campground, ride toward High Point State Park outside Port Jervis, NY in New Jersey, camp at Sawmill Lake then work my way down Old Mine Road to Worthington State Forest Campground. After that, I’d ride east to the Paulinskill Valley Trail and work my way back north. There were a few issues with this plan including distance, elevation, time and the fact that the Old Mine Road was closed due to paving. But the paving might be finished by now, so I rolled those dice.

High Point, New Jersey Monument
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0