Second Attempt - Failure and Sucesss - CycleBlaze

Second Attempt

DWGRA, Second Attempt. My friend Rob wanted to get some sort of tour in before the season was over. I suggested an overnight in the DWRNRA. He suggested camping. I suggested a hotel for an overnight. My thinking being that’s a lot of gear for a one night stay. Plus, I had recently hauled camping gear over a few hills and wanted to travel lighter. Rob agreed.

I used Andres Jaramillo’s route from Ride with GPS as a base. We planned on driving down to the area Saturday morning and riding back to the car Sunday. Parking appeared to be an issue. I inquired about overnight parking at Stokes Forest Headquarters and was told that it was not allowed. So much for recreation. The AT had a parking area on Culver Road. The plan was to park there, call the number posted and tell whoever answered the phone that our car would be there overnight. If asked, we were overnight backpacking the trail. A needless work around.

The route I mapped out started in Stokes Forest in New Jersey, crossed Dingman’s Ferry Bridge to Pennsylvania, rode the McDade Trail south till it ran out near Shawnee and then had us pedaling River Road to the town of Delaware Water Gap to spend the night. The next day had us heading east to the Paulinsky Trail and north back to the car.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0