Montgomery to Port Jervis - Failure and Sucesss - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2024

Montgomery to Port Jervis

Hills and road riding

 Another glorious day weather-wise, although it was a little hotter than yesterday. I used cycle.travel to generate a route from Montgomery to Port Jervis. The ride took me through mostly quiet back roads, with quite a few rolling hills. The passing scenery was mostly of residential homes, some huge, others more modest, of varying ages, conditions and acreage. I passed one farm. Riding on Brimstone Hill, Ridge Drive and through Mount Hope, elevation was today’s theme.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The day ended on four-mile, State Hill Road, downhill into Port Jervis. Once again, I stayed in the Erie Hotel and humped my bike and gear up to the third floor for my $130. The bar downstairs served up a decent meal. The church bell’s were off by three minutes.

I was pretty beat up at the end of the day. Even though my mileage was small, the bike was heavy with all the camping gear and my rookie mistake of packing too much. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 66 miles (106 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0