Milk, The Mississippi River, A Famous Aviator, And Not A Drop Of Rain - At the Forefront of a New Craze in Touring Destinations - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2024

Milk, The Mississippi River, A Famous Aviator, And Not A Drop Of Rain

Charles Lindbergh State Park

I left my bloody stinking Chrysler minivan in a downtown St. Cloud parking lot.  From there, I headed in a northerly direction.  I can safely report the corn is tall, the sun is hot, and the Mississippi River is still flowing.

The day started out cool enough that I had to wear two long-sleeved shirts, but it warmed up quickly.  I remembered to keep hydrated, which I haven't always done in the past.  A couple times I've paid the price in the form of leg cramps.  Another time, while riding a typically hot and humid day of RAGBRAI, I paid the price in the form of mild disorientation and no longer being able to sweat on a 95-degree day.  Lucky for me, I was saved by a half-hour of rest in a shady park that had water.  I learned an important lesson there--dehydration can really sneak up on you.

Not today though.  I started with two bottles of water and a quart of Gatorade, and I stopped at every convenience store for milk.  In north St. Cloud, it was a small bottle of whole milk.  In Sartell, I tried to limit my fat intake by buying a bottle of 2% milk.  That tasted so good that I went back inside and bought a chocolate milk.

Cold milk is not only a thirst quencher, but it's also a source of calcium and protein.  At a very early age, I learned calcium and protein build strong bones, teeth and muscle.  Plus, I LIKE milk, and my digestive system can handle it.

Delicious, nutritious milk.
Heart 3 Comment 6
Mark BinghamI'm glad your digestive system can handle it. I love milk, too, and happen to be drinking some while I read your journal. Fun tidbit for the day: A gazillion years ago, all humans were lactose intolerant. At some point a gene mutation allowed us to start drinking milk and because it was an evolutionary advantage most of us can now drink it. Since only 5% of people are lactose intolerant, I always thought it was the other way around, where a genetic mutation made us lactose intolerant. Anyway, drink up!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonGreat choice, Scott also loves milk! I drink water but I do like yogurt which has a lot of great nutrients and is great with muesli. I’m sure glad I have no issue with dairy products and gluten. I also love bread and especially wheat bread.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamInteresting information, Mark. I thought the medical community was kind of down on milk consumption these days. I've heard the phrase "milk isn't good for anyone except baby cows" too often.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonI knew that that about Scott. I remember one day when I watched your bikes while you went into the grocery store. I know lots of bike tourists write about drinking chocolate milk, so I was surprised to see he came out with white milk. It was nice to know there is somebody else out there like me . . . at least in that regard.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Emily SharpYeah, I think in recent years, research has shown there are better ways to get protein and calcium than milk and that it's probably not the greatest thing for you. Lots of conflict of interest in USDA nutritional guidelines and the dairy industry. I did love choc milk on tour, but now I realise it was doing bad things to me my whole life - not so much digestive issues, but once I stopped drinking milk and eating wheat, my asthma, hayfever and joint pain all went away. It's not the lactose that inflames me but the casein. People never believe it until they give it up for a couple months and are amazed at all the issues that go away. I was the same!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpLike most things I eat, I drink milk because I like it. I don't eat many wheat products--pasty crust and bratwurst buns excepted--only because I don't really like them much. But I'd give it all up if I went through the things you went through.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

All of my milk intake occurred in the first seven miles.  After that, there were no stores of any kind for the next 30 miles, unless you count the farm selling fresh eggs and another farm selling squash, sweet corn, and cabbages.

The egg vendor got me to thinking about how, if I got desperately thirsty, I could break a couple fresh eggs into my REI cup, stir them with my camping spoon, and drink them down like a glass of milk.  Big time liquid protein there.  It works for body builders, so why not for bike tourists.  (Just to let you know, I lived without resorting to an egg beverage.)

************

As always, my rambling has gotten ahead of the chronology of my day.  At this time, I'll try to bring you up to speed with a few pictures.

In some countries, sheep wander into the road and impede your progress. In Minnesota, geese are more likely to get in your way.
Heart 6 Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesGot lost trying to get back....(Canada geese eh?)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Emily SharpHave you seen the meme about the 'cobra chicken'? Google Canada Goose Cobra Chicken.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpI had never heard the term "Cobra Chickens" for Canadian geese before, but as soon as you mentioned it, I got it. More than once I've had them "HISSSSS" at me.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
There is a lot of green in this photo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Like my dad, I still wonder how the farmers get all those corn stalks to grow to the same height.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesAhhh. The secret is just to get the first few rows trained right. Then any imperfections in height are lost in the distance. It's all in your perspective. (Hahaha)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThat explains it. I should have suspected the "false front" theory.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
A steeple rising above the irrigator and the trees.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The steeple rises from a cute country church in the tiny town of North Prairie. The town is so tiny that it doesn't have a convenience store from which I could complete my milk quadra-fecta with a purchase of buttermilk.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I slowed down for a deer. The deer sped up for me.
Heart 1 Comment 1

I failed to mention that all of my first day of riding has been on a group of highways known as The Great River Road.  The Great River is, of course, the Mississippi.  How could I not ride a designated National Route without taking a few pictures of my favorite river?  Don't worry, I didn't.

I'm smiling because I'm on the Great River Road and it's nice to know it would be illegal to run me over while riding the shoulder.
Heart 3 Comment 3
Rachael AndersonThat is reassuring!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Nancy GrahamThat’s a smile?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamNow that you mention it, I guess it does look more like a smirk.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Where the Sauk River flows into the Mississippi River.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A dam damming the Mississippi River.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I went a little out of my way to get this shot from the middle of a bridge crossing the Great River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The view-blockers are doing what nature designed them to do--block the view. In this case, they blocked my view of the Mississippi River.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was well-hydrated, but the hot sun was bearing down on me.  At the end of the day, I was glad to arrive at the boyhood home of the first famous Minnesotan mentioned in yesterday's post.  I've been told Charles Lindbergh was famous for flying his airplane--The Spirit of St. Louis--all the way across the Atlantic Ocean.  Heck, what's the big deal?  Airplanes do that all the time.  Here's the big deal:  Charles A. Lindbergh was the first one to do it.

If it wasn't too expensive, I was ready to tour the Charles A. Lindbergh Museum.   The parking lot was disturbingly empty, though, and so was the building.

Heart 2 Comment 0
What the . . .?
Heart 1 Comment 0

So, I hiked up the trail to Charley's house.  I was hoping he'd see me out the window and come out to greet me.  Nope!  Turns out the guy has been dead for five decades.

Okay, I was joking about expecting him to come out to meet me in person.  But I was really hoping there would be a statue of Charles A. Lindberg on the grounds.  I envisioned a cool timed-picture of me wrapping my arm around his shoulder.  No such luck.

Charles A. Lindbergh's former home on the banks of the Mississippi River. I wonder if Chuck owned that golf cart in the front yard.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Across the highway from Charley's house is the Charles A. Lindbergh State Park.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I set up camp, wrote in my notebook, made dinner, took a short hike, saw a black squirrel, and enjoyed the peaceful silence.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It wasn't even dark yet when I retired to my tent.  Then the crazy screeching commenced.  Maybe the following video/audio will help you to identify the birds I was hearing and tell me what they were. 

I know I fell behind on this journal.  It's not because I quit again.  It's because I didn't bring my laptop.  I'll try to catch up very quickly.  I'll also try to catch up with responding to your comments.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Mark BinghamThey're Blue Jays. There's a great app called Merlin Bird ID and you can identify a bird by sound (I played your video for it) and also by pictures (even terrible, really low-resolution ones).
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonYou sure had a great cycling path. I love your video going through the state park!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamI kind of thought they might have been blue jays, as I've heard them before. But I've never heard one screeching for so long, nor have I heard so many of them screeching at the same.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Emily SharpLooks like this was a really nice day and a good tent site. Such a contrast to the rain of the other half of the tour.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago