First Day Flashback - At the Forefront of a New Craze in Touring Destinations - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2024

First Day Flashback

Dyersville, Iowa

Pre-Bike Tour Minutiae

My day began with driving my dad to his ophthalmology appointment in the city of Waterloo.   Every few weeks he gets a dose of Vabysmo injected directly into his eyeball.  He is one tough 89-year-old dude.  I can't even handle a tiny vaccine needle going into my arm without closing my eyes.  

It makes me wonder what I would do if I ever got macular edema.  I assume closing my eyes or looking away would not be options for the Vabysmo shots.  Upon being forced to watch that needle getting closer and closer, I most certainly would pass out.  In other words, the ophthalmologist would have to figure out a way to inject the serum into an unconscious patient.  Either that, or blindness will be in my future.

Eyeball shot aside, my dad and I had a fun morning.  Despite his mild cancer, his weakened cardiovascular system, his walking difficulties, and his advanced dementia, he still has a kooky sense of humor and moments of keen insight. 

Here's a picture of me getting ready to go to the eye doctor.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesOMG yes! You look so much like your father. What a dude.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonInteresting that this reminds me of my father, who also has taken the shots for years.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

TRICKED YOU!  That wasn't me.  That was my dad.  People--especially his friends--tell me I look just like him.  I hear it all the time. The picture that follows is the actual me.  Notice any similarities?  If not, you might want to be checked for macular edema or some other ophthalmological condition.

Hint: There is one glaring similarity on top.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Nancy GrahamSpittin’ image. ;’-)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Moving On to Minutiae Related to the Bike Tour

Yesterday, I came up with a pretty firm plan to deal with the wind, rain, transportation, and limited window of time problems.  The plan involved driving directly to Dyersville, where I would begin kind of a weird loop tour.  Not so much a loop, really, as an elongated figure eight.

Something like this--except for many explorations of side roads, small towns, some nostalgic highlights of Dyersville & Dubuque, and a surprise visit to two other states:

Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltYou are getting close to somewhat home territory for me. I lived a few miles south of Galena in Savanna, IL 2 different times for a total of 12 years. I fondly remember going to the BSA 75th anniversary jamboree in Galena. 13 Scouts from our troop, scoutmaster and me. I was told to keep them from killing each other. I was at least a success in that department!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltI look forward to seeing a bit of your old territory.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

After I dropped my dad off at his new home and we exchanged goodbyes, everything went according to plan.  I did my part of the plan by driving to Dyersville, and the weather did its part by delivering on the forecasts of rain.

When I arrived in Dyersville, an eerie feeling of deja vu came upon me, and I'm not talking about some kind of psychedelic flashback from my early teens.  I'm talking about similarities to the first day of my U.P. tour two months ago.

Firstly, I was a little tired from having to drive a car for so many hours instead of riding my bike.  Secondly, I arrived too early for check-in at my motel.  Thirdly, I killed time by exploring the town I was in.  Fourthly, it was raining lightly while I explored.  Fifthly, I checked out the bike trail on which I'd be starting my second day.

I wish I could report a 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th-ly deja vu, but they just weren't coming to me.  Instead, I'll show a few pictures I took.  Perhaps a couple of them will remind me of a story or two.

The Basilica of St. Francis Xavier is the most prominent feature. Dyersville always took pride in having a basilica in such a small town. It's a German Gothic masterpiece. To the left of the church, is the Catholic school I attended from 4th through 8th grade.
Heart 7 Comment 3
Scott AndersonReminds me of the series of churches we saw 35 years ago biking from Quebec City to Montreal.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauThere are churches like this all over the area I'm in too. Even in very small towns. It's hard to believe northeastern Iowa is like Quebec-- at least in their Catholic churches.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Nancy GrahamThat is a beautiful building. Would not have expected that in Iowa.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dyersville's other claim to fame is that the movie "Field of Dreams" was filmed a few miles outside of town. The movie site is now an expensive tourist trap. I'll settle for this picture in downtown Dyersville. It cost me nothing.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonI loved that movie!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonWhen I first saw your "I loved that movie" comment, I thought it referred to the clip I posted on the next page from "The Three Amigos." I really liked "Field of Dreams," but I LOVED the daffiness of "The Three Amigos." When it comes to depth of cinematic appreciation, the Amigos are more my speed. But really, the thing I love most about it is that my son and I watched it together about five times in the month after it came out. We still quote lines from The Three Amigos quite often.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
The basilica will naturally attract your eyes to the left, but straight ahead there's a brewery built in an old textile mill.
Heart 4 Comment 0
At the terminus of the Heritage Railtrail, there is a cool tank in the background and an un-cool goofball in the foreground.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Nancy GrahamYou crack me up Greg.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachael AndersonI think you’re cool!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rocky!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
This is the house I lived in with my family. Let me tell you, it didn't look that nice back then. It looked exactly like the house to the left.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Emily SharpI think most of my friends grew up in very similar-looking homes - a Midwest thing?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I attended this school my freshman year before moving to a public high school in Oelwein. Some of the hijinks my friends and I engaged in at Beckman were unbecoming of good Catholics.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Susan CarpenterI'd love to hear about some of your hijinks. I went to Catholic grade school and my friends and I once put a baseball in the tabernacle.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Susan CarpenterSince you shared one of your hijinks episodes, I'll share this one. A friend and I thought it would be funny to sneak into a little, sound-proof music practice room and stick a small, open, carton of school milk up above the ceiling tiles. We made a pact to not tell anyone what we did because you never know who might squeal on us. We checked on the stink every day. After a couple weeks, it was horrendous. Eventually, somebody found the putrid milk. We laughed at who might have had to climb up there to remove it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

After my little nostalgia tour, I stopped at the local Casey's convenience store for some motel room snacks and beer.  I'm looking forward to watching some heavy rain tonight and hoping it will be reduced to light rain by morning.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Karen PoretBeing the “good” Catholic boy you once were instilled in you to take care of your Dad. Good for you, Gregory :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Karen PoretNot only the good Catholic boy I once was, but also the good Church of the Great Outdoorsian I now am.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Emily SharpA bit of nostalgia is nice - it's good to remember your roots sometimes. I'm glad the Catholic school instilled in you a sense of reverence that you could transfer to your adult church.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpAmen to that, sister!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago