A Chance To Save This Tour AND To Save Face - At the Forefront of a New Craze in Touring Destinations - CycleBlaze

A Chance To Save This Tour AND To Save Face

“The only reason I would ever quit would be a serious injury that caused me to be physically incapable of propelling a bicycle--like an exploded knee, a broken skull, or death.  Certainly I will not quit because it's too difficult, too boring, too scary, or too uncomfortable.”  -Gregory S. Garceau in 2013

“Just outside of Farley the heavy rains returned.   It made for some pretty miserable cycling . . . thinking one hour of suffering would be better than three hours of suffering . . . I rode back to Dyersville. . . I could just drive to Dubuque from there.”  -Gregory S. Garceau in 2024

Oh, how one's internal resolve can diminish in eleven years!

************

Much to my shame, I abandoned my original plan for a five-day tour after only two days.  I'll try to refresh your memories since that happened three weeks ago:  My failure to plan ahead was pathetic.  My attempt to deal with a little rain was pathetic.  My stress over not carrying a tent was pathetic.  The irony of blaming my lack of sleep on worrying about not getting enough sleep was pathetic.  In sum, I was pathetic.  Perhaps this addition to my journal is pathetic too.  I hope not, because I'm going ahead with it anyway.

The shame has been weighing on me ever since then.  A couple days ago, I said to myself, "ENOUGH WITH THE PITIFUL SELF-LOATHING!  LET'S DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!"

Thank the god of the Church of the Great Outdoors, I came up with a way to atone for my sins, and I found a way to do it while also sticking to the themes I've been using in the journal so far:  Boyhood nostalgia, heavy bragging, and Midwestern bike touring.  With that continuity in mind, I found no reason to start a separate journal.  True, the new material won't include the now-infamous destination of Dubuque, but I think I found a NEW craze in bike touring destinations to be at the forefront of.  [See Footnote.]

According to my calculations, I owe myself three days and two nights of bike touring, and now is the time to collect on that debt.  I studied my Rand-McNally Atlas for a route that might fit such a timespan and zeroed in on it via Google Maps.  With a twirl of my magic wand, I conjured up three days and two nights to make this journal right (righteous?).

************

I lived in four different Midwestern towns before the age of sixteen.  St. Cloud, Minnesota is the only one I haven't visited on either of my bike tours this year.  I only lived in St. Cloud for 18 months, split between my 2nd and 3rd grade school years.  When I arrive there tomorrow, I'll explore the city on my bike.  My main focus will be on finding my grade school and the duplex I lived in with my family.  If I am successful, get ready for more boyhood nostalgia and more stories about ME.

The search for sites from my early elementary school days could be considered pre-tour stuff. I'll be writing about that pre-tour stuff tomorrow, for sure, but the actual three-day, two-night clock begins the next day. The highlights of my three-day, two-night loop in central Minnesota will be the Mississippi River, visits with a couple of famous Minnesotans and, to a lesser extent, a ride on part of the Wobegon Trail.
Heart 4 Comment 0

 [Footnote:  I've been told it's okay to end a sentence with a preposition in these relaxed days of modern journalism.  Still, my uptight Catholic School education from the 1970s tells me I should apologize for the grammatical error.  I'm sorry.]

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Emily SharpHi Greg - so glad you've got a chance to settle some things in your head for this tour and the opportunity to get out there for a few more days. It looks like a nice route on RideWithGPS.

I do believe resolve is inversely related to income. Amazing the number of fair weather Boomer riders who can afford to not ride in the rain and stay indoors every night!

When I first got into bike touring, it blew my mind that people rode from motel to motel and only camped if they had to or could not afford roofed accommodation every night. Coming from a backpacking background like you, I just saw bike touring as the bicycle form of that. And with that, you camped because you wanted to and hiked in the rain because... it happened to be raining. So it was interesting to me that non-outdoorsy people 'toured' and it was more about the bike than being outside for them.

For me, it's about the tent, the forest, the rocks, the trees and being outside in all conditions as much as it is about the bike. When I've done some 3-4 day rides where I didn't camp, I really just felt like I was doing a series of day rides instead of 'touring'. I think it's probably the same for you - though it is always good to be out on the bike when the chance presents itself, even if it's not quite your ideal dream ride. Have fun! May the weather gods be kind.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretYour footnote about grammar has divine interventions, Gregory πŸ˜‡
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith KleinHi,
β€œEnd a sentence with a preposition? Why, this is a situation up with which I shall not put!”
Cheers
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpI'm not a rich boomer, but I am a boomer, so I'm not as hard on other boomers as you are. Indoor accommodations are fine sometimes, but I agree that the outdoor aspects of camping and bike touring go hand in hand.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Karen PoretThere is a fine line between divine and pretentious.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinI laughed out loud at which you wrote. Preposition anxiety is the thing I have. Forthwith, prepositions I shall not do.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonYou are super tough and it actually made me feel less of a weenie having you abort your trip. I really appreciate that and am glad to hear you off on another mini tour!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago