Day 1: It was good in the beginning - It's Bigger! It's Badder! Is it too much for Mr. Incredible? - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2024

Day 1: It was good in the beginning

I've been watching the weather forecast for the last few days, and all predictions are for a heat wave to roll into the path of my journey and park there for about a week. Today we find out if that's true. But before we start riding, let's have some of those tater tots at the Residence Inn breakfast, because, who doesn't feel like a kid eating tater tots? 

Who else closes their panniers, loads them on the bike, and then sees two things they forgot to pack? Am I the only one?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Completely forgetting all about forgetting to put things into my panniers I was off on the road by 7:20. I was excited to start the tour because it's my longest by miles (about 775) and days (11 days). Actually, I think my 2017 tour along the Erie Canal and Vermont was 11 days as well, but I'm just going to stick with this one being the longest in days. Because, (1) it's my journal, and (2) never let the truth get in the way of a good story. I had 8 miles of riding and 1 river to cross before I could even start the Ohio-to-Erie trail (OTET) part of the trip, but I was excited because I was riding it in the correct direction given the trail's name. Last year, I rode from the Erie to the Ohio so it was completely backwards, and I nearly felt shame for the faux-pas. Nearly.

I get my first view of Cincinatti as I make my way to the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I cross the Roebling bridge instead of the pedestrian/cyclist-only purple people bridge. The Ohio department of transportation was looking out for my safety following an incident of crumbling bridge and closed the purple people bridge. They didn't want to see my crumbling and tumbling into the river as I attempted a cross, so I used the Roebling bridge instead. Once I made it to the Ohio side of the river and waved good-bye to Kentucky, I navigated down a set of stairs to the starting point of the OTET.

Either I missed a turn for a ramp coming off the bridge or there was no infrastructure for cyclists from this bridge. Given the small ramp adjacent to the stairs, methinks it may have been the latter.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The riverfront has some great views and here's a wonderful scenic vista of the inside of a tunnel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

15 miles into the day, I'm passing through Cincinatti and towards the network of trails that make up the OTET. Since this is my second time through (and going in the other (correct?) direction) I get to see things in a way I wasn't able to see last time. Like, the river on my right instead of my left, or taking an alternate trail this time. In fact, I do just that and head around the Lunken airport, passing loads of runners and cyclists out this fine Saturday morning.

In life, you have to stop and smell the roses. Or the peonies; or daisies, or whatever the heck these flowers are. Or be like me and simply ride past them as you enjoy the view.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltImpatiens

https://www.thespruce.com/shade-tolerant-impatiens-flowers-2132141
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Paul MulveyI may have been too impatient to look that up myself 😂. Thanks for the assist. Always good to have a botanist to help out when posting a touring blog. Thanks.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Just before rolling into Loveland I encounter people on the path participating in an event. The banner indicating the finish stretches across the trail, so volunteers cheer me on as I ride through. Never before have I ever been cheered on a bike tour as I hit my half-way point. I then roll through Loveland and it's filled with people milling about, sitting in outdoor cafés drinking expensive coffee drinks, and families not paying attention to where they push their strollers. I survive both the banner and the families and make it through to the other side where I look forward to another 38 miles of riding towards my campsite.

How many of you have rolled under a celebratory half-way point banned on a bike tour? PS - that's not me in the pic as I was performing videography duties for this pic.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Morrow, I made three stops.

  1. the Morrow Arts Center, a converted old elementary school now individual shops for artists. Not all the converted classroom studios were opened, but a good reuse and repurpose of an existing building
  2. The Morrow Cafe, where I bought a sandwich and chips made 100% from locally sourced ingredients
  3. The park, to rest and consume aforementioned sandwich

Morrow, at 50 miles, was the longest single-day ride I've done this year. I've had a lot of 20 and 30-mile rides following my surgery to get ready for the trip and my legs, while tired, rose to the occasion and are still spinning well powering me forward. I just have to remind myself to eat during the day to refuel.

My lunch stop in Morrow. Since there were no other places to stop for food along the way to the campsite, I had to consider this my dinner stop as well. Well, other than the Clif bar at camp, that is.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Made it to Spring Valley OH to Constitution Park. The town allows cyclists traveling along the OTET to camp for a $5 fee for one night. No services other than porta-potty, but it's a plot of land. Arriving, there were a lot of cars in the parking lot, but most of them left by around 7:30, heading home for dinner or whatever they were doing on Father's Day. Last truck was picked up and gone by 9:15 - I heard them pick it up as I lay in the tent. The park seems to be primarily used for ingress by rafting and tubing companies to drop off water-borne floaters who want a relaxing transport down a slow-moving river. And some who obviously wanted to enjoy adult beverages during their journey. Over the course of the night, there were a few people who stopped by the park to use the potty, but no-one caused me any alarm or grief.

As the sun starts going down below the tree-line, the heat of the day starts to go down and I'm able to climb into the tent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 74 miles (119 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
John PickettOne of my favorite things about bike touring is discovering (for me, at least) little known gems. Cool that you rode across the Roebling Bridge. It was designed and built by the same man who designed the Brooklyn Bridge. (His son built the latter.)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Paul MulveyTo John PickettTotally agreed. And for me learning about a certain structure's significance or the history surrounding it often gives viewing it and being there so much more meaningful.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago