T-10(ish) - Autumn Allegro in Asia - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2024

T-10(ish)

This screenshot is from about an hour after it made landfall. The island is 250km across.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I write this, SuperTyphoon Yagi is moving northeast at around 20kph and is still about 5km off the coast of Wenchang.

I'm in Haikou. The power has flickered a few times. My building has shook in some of the harder gusts of wind. But, even if "Six Closed Emergency Management¹" measures are in effect, it's still mostly just heavy rains that don't feel particularly different from a normal Typhoon Day².

While I can't say as I usually pay very much attention to the news for Typhoon Day, the last time I remember my not-very-tall building shaking was SuperTyphoon Rammasun in 2014, and we've still got 5 or 6 hours before the storm is supposed to pass over the city. No current news on Haikou's winds but Beaufort Scale Force 12 winds have already been recorded in Wenchang.

My roof used to have a lean-to for hanging laundry.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm taking this time to work on a proofreading project for the Foreign Languages Press and pack for the Tour. Or, at least, to try to pack for the Tour. A lot of what I've been doing has been discovering that I a) cannot find any usable bike shorts and b) whatever I did with the thermals I picked up from the courier after mailing them home midTour in February, I can't find them either. 

I don't mind the loss of the bib tights. Similarly, I don't mind that I can't find the full length tights. Both are replaceable. Both have been owned for over a decade. 

I am, however, really pissed that I can't find my thermal jersey from the Indonesian Polygon Sweet Nice team cause, as with most stuff acquired from professional teams, it not only was really good quality it cannot be replaced³. 

A very special bicycle that I got to try out on my last press junket
Heart 0 Comment 0

--

¹ Close all tourist attractions and parks, close all schools, close all markets, close all business and government offices, stop all gatherings, stop all mass transit services and discourage non-emergency workers from using the roads

² Well, except that I felt lazy yesterday and failed to go buy Too Much Cheese and therefore am not having a decadent Bed Picnic right now.

³ The gloves from the team that somehow had sponsorship from the Vatican and McDonald's are my saddest piece of lost gear.

Yes, I was wearing a safety harness
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0