Verona again - 🇮🇹 Cycle Cruise Cycle 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2024

Verona again

As mentioned I booked a guided walking tour this morning to learn more about Verona. As I discovered on my way to the meeting point the Pope was in town. That resulted in hundreds of of police, closed roads and bigger crowds but most of it was confined to the arena area where he had an audience with 15,000 people, I was not one of them.  Instead I wandered the city with our guide.  I went to many of the same places as yesterday but now I know more about them.

Verona is a very old city dating back to BC. It has been run by the Romans, Venetians, the French and Austro-Hungarians not to mention the Germans in WWII. The latter destroyed all of the bridges when departed the city but they have all been reconstructed to their original form as best as possible. 

Speaking of the Pope, I saw him 3 times today without even trying.  He was being driven around in a Fiat 500 with a large police entourage.  He had a very busy schedule for an elderly man.

I made my way up to St Peter’s castle via a funicular for the best view of the city.  While up there I treated myself to lunch and rest for my sore feet.  Steps today so far are 17,300.

The Vecchio bridge again. Note the difference size arches to accommodate different size boats. This bridge was rebuilt as best they could after being blown up by the Germans in WWII.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A speciality of this area is Pandoro. This building was once a factory for this delicate pastry. It is different from panettone and special to this region.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This explains the difference between pandoro and panettone.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A photo of pandoro.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A column with a lion on top which is the symbol for Venetian’s and Verona is part of Veneto.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I could smell the leather as I walked by but I did not stop.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonThat would be a tough one to walk by without stopping. I can smell the leather just looking at the photo!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
A fountain in one of the squares. The statue of Juliet resembles this young woman.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dante live in Verona for many years supported by a local rich family.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of many government buildings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An authentic Roman road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
St Peter’s castle across the river from the main city.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What is a day in Italy without gelato.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonOh my, wish I was there just for the gelato.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
My choice, salted caramel
Heart 3 Comment 1
Jan MeyerGreat choice - the salted caramel looks yummy … though they all do!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
A view from the hill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again
Heart 0 Comment 0
My lunch of pizza buffala with wine of course
Heart 3 Comment 0
The duomo (cathedral) from the top of the hill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I rode up and down in the funicular to save the old body.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The duomo from ground level
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the 3rd and last time I saw the Pope. I was starting to think he was stalking me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0