Let the cycling begin - 🇮🇹 Cycle Cruise Cycle 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2024

Let the cycling begin

Porto to Furadouro

Today we finally started cycling from Porto back towards Lisbon along the Atlantic coast.  Day 1 started with our bike setup and then off we went for a flat ride mostly along the coast but we did turn inland passing through a national forest of fir trees growing in the sand.  It was overcast in the morning but the sun came out late in the afternoon.  The temperature was perfect for cycling.  We are now in Furadouro one of many beach towns on the Atlantic coast.  I am battling a mild cold so I am happy that the first few days are pretty easy.  
The wifi is bad here so the photos may have to wait until tomorrow.

The route
Heart 0 Comment 0
The profile, it couldn’t be any flatter.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The 3 amigos at the start in Porto.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My last view of outer Porto as we turned south.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My steed for the week. I am sure that I could do this ride easily on my gravel bike but given that I am a little under the weather I am happy to have the boost.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is Charlotte a lab who did not want to go home from the beach so she was hiding in the reeds.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A chapel on the beach that is actually an island at very high tides.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the beach. I have my vest on because it was a little foggy and cool in the AM.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The name of the beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Most of the day was on lovely demarcated bike paths especially once out of Porto.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A very cute train station along the way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We missed the turn onto this path but once found we rode through a marshland on a wooden boardwalk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again on the pathway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me on the boardwalk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This tacky house was in our town.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 360 km (224 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0