Last ride and more climbing - 🇮🇹 Cycle Cruise Cycle 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2024

Last ride and more climbing

I decided that today would be my last ride after 7 days in a row.  I ended on a high riding 84km and climbing 3976’ (1205m).  Tomorrow’s ride will be a repeat of last Monday so I am going to tour about instead.  It has been a week of intense riding with climbing and at a much faster pace than I usually ride, something I could not have done without a little electric assist.  I rode almost everything in eco and I never ran out of battery, even today.

Today was the best weather of the entire week.  It was sunny and warm all day.  When we left this morning there was a light dusting of snow on the high mountain peaks in the distance.  Unfortunately we ride so hard and fast I couldn’t get a photo.  The same could be said for several of the beautiful villages through which we rode.

The climb was 13km up on some pretty terrible roads.  The main descent was 11km on much better roads.  It was a fun gently curved route with only a couple of hairpin turns so you could let the bike run.  Once down the main descent it was still mostly downhill back to the hotel.

Even though I am tired I feel much stronger than when I arrived.  I received numerous compliments on how well I ride from a strength perspective but also safety.  Apparently most Cdns who come here are not as good a cyclist as me.  This is a place to come to ride not tour.

These are the 3 big climbs in the area. We did Passo Della Lessina the lowest and easiest of the three. We rode 13km up and 11km down on the climb itself.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is the actual profile for today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some of the scenery on the way up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We regrouped here after 8km of climbing. We still had 4km to go up to the church steeple in the distance and then 1 more km before starting down
Heart 0 Comment 0
My Garmin at the regroup spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Almost at the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of Lake Garda half way down
Heart 0 Comment 0
The red arrow points to Sirmione where I plan to go tomorrow by ferry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the viewpoint in my new BGH kit.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The old church at the viewpoint.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 km (52 miles)
Total: 444 km (276 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Beth KavanaghYou should be commended.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago