East side of Lake Garda - 🇮🇹 Cycle Cruise Cycle 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2024

East side of Lake Garda

Today’s ride had more climbing than the first 2 rides.  My guide from Monday told me to come with him since after Monday he said I could handle it.  So I did. The ride was 68.4km long with 3054ft of climbing, I still had 40% of may battery left at the end.  We headed north along the lake before turning inland for the first climb. Once part way back down we stopped for coffee at about the 25km mark.  After coffee it was the big climb for the day of 7km.  It averaged 5% but there many section of 8-9% with some 10-12%.  It was a long lovely descent back to the lake and return to the hotel.  There was a thunderstorm forecast for 2PM so Alberto, our guide, put the pedal to the metal to get back. We were often going 28-30kph.  We made it back with about a minute to spare when the skies opened.  I had a very big lunch at 2:30 since they had everything I liked.  It will be salad or nothing for supper.  There is another storm in the forecast tomorrow so who knows what will happen.  Northern Italy has had an unusually wet and cool spring.

Today’s ride that was shortened by 7km to beat the rain but we did do both of the climbs.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This ride is in the enthusiastic category rather than the classic category. My guide from Monday told me last night that I was coming with him on this ride because I can handle the climbs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This what a $20K bike looks like.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The church in Caprino Veronese where we stopped for coffee.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The coffee stop
Heart 2 Comment 0
A fellow Cdn approaching the top of the big climb in Lumini.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I now have a series of photos of Lake Garda along the descent.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Me too
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Serious rain once we got back.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 727 km (451 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0