Arrivederci - 🇮🇹 Cycle Cruise Cycle 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2024

Arrivederci

I left early this morning by train to Rome to catch an early evening flight to Lisbon Portugal but I thought that I would leave some final thoughts about my experience at Lake Garda.  Overall it was a good week of cycling with lots of challenges and rides on very high quality bikes.  It was great fun to finally ride a Pinarello but I won’t be buying one.  The guides were excellent and very good at adapting to the very changing weather.  Likewise the hotel staff were excellent and very pleasant with which to deal.

Comparing this place to the Belvedere is a little unfair because the approach between the two is very different. Cycle holidays here only account for a third of the hotel business not all of it as at the Belvedere.  I believe the guides are paid vice working for room and board.  They also offer more of a personal touch with as little as 1 guide for 1 cyclist.  This is a very affluent region, much more than the Riccione area so prices are going to be higher.  Well heeled Europeans and Americans are quite willing to drop a lot of coin here, so I believe that all of that leads to much higher prices.  The one thing I would say for certain is that the food at the Belvedere is far superior to here.

Meeting up with Hilary and Christopher later today in Lisbon.

My last comment is that I was paid a real compliment about my cycling ability by several of the guides.  There is life in the old girl yet.

Heart 0 Comment 0

For fun below is what I am missing today.

This is likely the route I would have done.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the other hand I might have been stupid enough to try this one since it had van support and a supplemental battery would have been available. The 20km downhill looks like fun. As I was leaving this ride was postponed until tomorrow again because of weather.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is better photo of the profile. It is about the same length as the route I did up Mt Ventoux but actually not as hard.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Beth KavanaghYou are very inspiring and there is no doubt in my mind that there is plenty of life left in you. Cycling 7 days in a row is like your brother golfing ten days in a row and walking. Always active! As Kyle says "Motion is lotion"
Reply to this comment
3 months ago