Day D8B: A Host Like No Other - Caucasian - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2024

Day D8B: A Host Like No Other

It was time to move back into the original room after the maid had cleaned it.  I bumped into my host again and we had another chat. She had an uncanny nack to start with Topic X and by the time she finished it was an entirely unrelated thing and both of us wondering what we were talking about.  In many ways it is like the butterly effect, where X leads to Y which connects to A and B, but there is a backstory alpha and beta behind all of that.  By the time you finish the linkage you wonder how all the dots connect.

I wouldn't be surprised if there is some sort of mathematical model in graph theory that can analyze these conversations or if there is not, it would be a very interesting area of research.

When sorting out the remaining logistics of our stay and the fact she was extremely good at keeping track of the money, it became clear that I still owed her 50 dirhams.  I apologized then said I would pay that and then ante up another 100 since I had been using the laundry every day for my workout clothes when washing wasn't really included in the package.

We talked about the complexity with all the room switches and she said, "Well to be honest I didn't really plan it that way and looking back I wouldn't really have wanted to do it like this.  But I can't say no to people, you realize."  We both laughed and I told her, "By the way, I am the exact same.  You would have no idea how much I struggle with this and have made some strides recently.  But setting boundaries for me is hard.  That's why if you told me no to extending my stay or doing laundry, I would totally understand and find a hotel with no hard feelings whatsover, do the laundry somewhere outside, and still give you a 5 star review."

At this point I only wished there was a way to give her a 7 star review, she was the best Airbnb host I ever had.

We then got into a chat about all the work involved in hosting an Airbnb.  I used to go this route while trying to rent out my former Pattaya condo so know what it is like.  There is no passive income in managing an Airbnb, you are constantly working your tail off like my host does.

At some point I checked the stocks and was not happy about the direction that the Trump stock was headed.  Pretty much in the crapper.  Who would have thought that Trump could literally dodge a bullet but that would be trumped when Biden dropped out of the race and Kamala Harris emerged as the presumptive Democratic nominee.  If anyone could absolutely destroy Trump, she could.  The market seems to think the same, and now it may have been a mistake to buy that stock.  My money and heart is now on her as the next president but will find a way to either sell off or short Trump before it happens.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0