Day 88: Lake Michigan Campground to Maple Bay State Forest Campground - Cascadia to Acadia 2024 - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2024

Day 88: Lake Michigan Campground to Maple Bay State Forest Campground

Lisa and I with the Mackinac Bridge in the background
Heart 1 Comment 0
St. Ignace had this handy sunscreen dispenser at a beach. This is the first time I’ve seen one of these but it strikes me as a great idea
Heart 1 Comment 0
My family used to spend part of our summers on Burt Lake at this cottage association. I couldn’t resist a roll-by since I knew we’d be so close
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today marked the crossing from the upper peninsula into the lower via the Mackinac Bridge. There’s no way to bike across the bridge so we had to contact the Mackinac Bridge Authority to get a ride in one of their pickups. This is the only road I’ve made forward progress on during this trip where I wasn’t pedaling my bike. I know it would be a little pricey Bridge Authority/MDOT- but next time there’s major construction on the Big Mac, it would be fantastic if you could add a pedestrian/bicycle crossing! Just wanted to put that out there.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 3,887 miles (6,256 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kelly IniguezWhen we rode that way in 2021, rides across the bridge were canceled because of COVID. I'm glad to see they made a comeback. There are quite a few things that never started again after COVID.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago