Day 1: Issaquah to Poulsbo, WA - Cascadia to Acadia 2024 - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2024

Day 1: Issaquah to Poulsbo, WA

Ready to hit the road
Heart 3 Comment 0

I started from my cousin Claire and her husband Nick's place in Issaquah. Thanks for letting me stay, Claire and Nick! It was really helpful to stage from there. I then rode my bike west from Issaquah toward Seattle. It may seem out of the way, but it made sense to get to the Pacific coast route that I wanted to follow north to Anacortes. So I followed some rural roads out of Issaquah until I got to the I-90 trail. I followed that and went to Bellevue and then across Lake Washington and into the city where the trail continues and I ended up on the streets of Seattle until I got to the ferry terminal.

Overlook on Mercer Island with I-90 crossing Lake Washington in the background
Heart 1 Comment 0

I waited for a bit and caught the 12:20 ferry across the sound to Bremerton. It was a really cool experience to take the ferry across the sound. I just rolled up and acted like I was car, took my bike on, got to go to the front of the queue next to a guy in a motorcycle, and then rolled onto the ferry. I didn't realize this, but the ferry runs in two directions. So cars can load from one terminal and then drive off the end into the other terminal at the end point. Then the people going in the opposite direction can drive on and the ferry takes off facing the opposite direction - makes sense but I’d never really thought about it. Once on the ferry, I was able to relax and enjoy the views.

The WSDOT Walla Walla, ready to take me to Bremerton
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bye, Seattle!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Jean ParkerCool shot. The wake and the clouds mimic each other.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Once in Bremerton I met my friend Erin for lunch. Then I rolled onward and continued to bike through Kitsap County. I enjoyed taking in the periodic views of Puget Sound and Hood Canal, seeing the water around this forested peninsula.  The landscape included rolling hills, agricultural land, old family farms, and then the occasional town which had strip malls and pot shops and exciting things like that. It was a good shakeout day where I had some hills that I had to deal with, I never felt far from civilization, but was able to start to get my biking legs under me. For the night I ended up at Kitsap Memorial State Park. They have these nice biker specific campsites that are a little more primitive, a little off the way, a little smaller - very nice option for a bike camper. So here I am and excited to get going on day two.

Rural road winding through Kitsap County
Heart 1 Comment 1
Jean ParkerStrip malls are always exciting. 😂
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Forested biker/hiker campsite
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Please note the distance cited here in the elevation breakdown isn’t accurate - it includes the ferry crossing. The actual distance biked  is around 41 miles.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 41 miles (66 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0