To Darien: Heat, Humidity, Wind, Rain, Dogs and Hozier - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2024

To Darien: Heat, Humidity, Wind, Rain, Dogs and Hozier

Last week my daughter suggested we go to the Hozier concert in Darien.  I decided to bike there and meet them.  Meteorologists called for 90 degree heat with humidity.  I hate that.  I left around 12:45--an hour later than I planned.  I decided to go with the large water bottle and a smaller bottle with Nuun.  First 6 miles along the Canal and Genesee River trails felt good--not too hot. 

Break on the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0


The county roads took me through farmland and rolling hills: natural interval training--coast-work-coast-work.  Here's a typical view:

Farmland between Rochester and Buffalo
Heart 1 Comment 0

  Meteorologists had called for storms around 3pm.  My planned leave time would have had me in LeRoy, in a restaurant called Sweet Betty's, to rest, eat, hydrate, and wait it out.  But I left an hour late.  Around 3:30 strong winds hit me--in the face of course.  Somehow, whichever way I turned-- left, right--didn't matter: the wind was not at my back.  At one point the road did a 180 and, incredibly, the high winds stayed in my face.  It felt like I had to pedal really hard to keep from going backwards.  The winds were strong enough that they cut my speed in half.  After about 30 minutes, they dissipated from gale force to just really, really strong winds.  Then it started raining.  The rain I didn't mind--in fact I welcomed it.  It was a light rain that cooled me down. 

A little after 4pm, I made it to LeRoy.  I locked up my bike in front of Sweet Betty's.  Usually it's open Wednesday, but last Wednesday it was closed for one reason or another.  I walked up the block and found Capish--an Italian restaurant.  I ordered a spinach calzone and Stella Artois.  Apparently I don't have a problem eating after a difficult 30 miles.  It was 2 for 1 happy hour, so I got another Stella.  The calzone was cheesy and hot, the beer was cold.  I also drank a large club soda with a lemon and a lime.  The storm passed, it was sunny and beautiful.  I was running behind schedule, but I lay down on a bench for a few minutes to digest.  I shook my water bottle and there seemed to be plenty left.  I'd come more than 30 miles, I had less than 25 to go.  So I decided not to refill the bottle.

Stella at Capish in LeRoy, May 22, 2024
Heart 0 Comment 0

After about an hour of rolling hills, the climbs were taking their toll.  I'd only stopped for a water break once during the 32 miles to LeRoy.  During this 24 miles I stopped 3 times.  The third time, I only got a sip of water and the bottle was empty.  I was still about 8 miles away from Darien.  I knew I had plenty of fluids in me to live, but I also knew I was thirsty.  I figured I'd pass a gas station or store along the way--especially as I got within a couple of miles of Darien.  I was wrong.  Nothing.  I considered stopping at a farmhouse and knocking on the door.  Twice along the route dogs came after me.  One got particularly close and seemed interested in taking a bite (thanks Dave and Jeff for the dog warnings).  Meanwhile my wife and daughter were stuck in traffic due in part to a horrible accident.  The concert was supposed to start at 8pm, and we were all on track to arrive at about 8:10.  I made it to the amphitheater around 8:20--they were still stuck in traffic.  I offered to buy water--or any drink--from a few people to no avail.  I pathetically begged the staff working the bag check for water.  One of them took my water bottle, went into the venue.  When he returned, I dropped a Nuun tablet into it and chugged about a pint.  Turns out he had owned Northstar Bikes--a bike shop in Buffalo, and had done a lot of riding.  Tragedy averted--faith in humanity restored.  See the next journal entry for a bit about the Hozier concert.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0