The Ride Week 1: the good, the bad, and the ugly - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2024

The Ride Week 1: the good, the bad, and the ugly

This past week I rode 430 miles from Washington DC to Canton, Ohio.  My prediction from the previous entry was correct: day 2-6 felt like I was riding mountains beyond mountains, through the Alleghenies.  The good:  gear, bike, plan, I'm alive and kicking, kind people.  The bad: like Blanche, I had to rely on the kindness of strangers.  The ugly: heatwave and poor execution of aforementioned plan.  For more detail read on.  

The quantity and quality of gear seems to be holding up: I've used it all, and I haven't needed more.  Thank you to all I've consulted with over the past year.  I cleaned and lubed the chain on day 3, which helped, but when I pulled into Pittsburgh around 8:15pm I went straight to REI.  Rocky was great, he spotted some stretching of the chain and replaced it: I think the combination of weight and hills strained it.  However, yesterday the shifting was jumpy: I hope the cassette isn't feeling it.  The first few days I put the bike through hell: gravel, forest, mud, road, heat, dirt, rain.  It keeps on rolling.  I'm beginning to understand Haralambon's love for his bicycle--minus the romantic piece.  

The plan seems solid--I need to follow it.  I blame Antoine.  Seriously, the kickoff event in DC was fantastic--insightful speakers, wonderful crowd, great space, generous owners, Kelly was there to laugh at my attempts at humor--but I stayed a bit longer and drank a bit more than I intended.  In other words, I made poor choices.  Thus, instead of leaving at around 6am the next morning, I left around 9am.  That set off a cycle (pun intended) of getting in late, not getting to bed until after 1am, getting a late start, sleep deprivation, etc.  Today is my first day of rest, I plan to follow the plan  more strictly beginning tomorrow.   

Speaking of following the plan, kindness is fantastic--it's our purpose, and what this ride is about, i.e. being kind to those in need instead of criminalizing them.  Needing kindness is less fantastic--also what this ride is about, i.e. nobody wants to be needy.  I am extremely grateful to Julie for the free bunkhouse, Emily for the leftovers, Spencer for the tour, The Millers for the use of their facilities, Chris and Claire for the cabin, Cheryl for the Little Debby cakes and fluids, and all for the well-wishes (I may have forgotten a few--my brain cell is still tired and thirsty).  

The heat slowed me down a bit--but thanks to trees, breeze and rain--not too much.  Amazingly I'm still on schedule, and gratefully still in one piece on the top side of the grass.  More to follow...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0