Old Bike with my Daughter - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2024

Old Bike with my Daughter

Father and Daughter on the Canal
Heart 0 Comment 0

My daughter is home from college for the summer.  Monday she rode with me to REI.  REI was having its annual sale and I wanted to get her a new helmet.  I was also looking for a couple of little items, namely, sunglasses and a helmet light.  The ride is about 3.7 miles, mostly along the canal.  So, I decided to take the old bike.  No bike pants, no water...no socks.  Don't get me wrong: I appreciate the gear.  But, especially on short rides, it's not necessary.  That's one of the phenomenal aspects of cycling.  It's something parents can do with children, old and young, alone or with a group.  Sure, centenarians can jump out of airplanes and run marathons, but as we age, playing football and hockey can be problematic for some of us. You can ride for fun, race, tour, bike pack, or just pick something up from the store.  When I was in China in 1997, I saw millions riding to work and delivering couches by bicycle.   

Anyway, it was fun to hop on an old bike in regular shorts and sandals; a bike that's too small, so even when I lean back my knees are still hitting my chest.  This past fall it was a good bike to train on (don't use a bike that's not the right size if you have knee problems).  Another beautiful day.

On the canal May 20th. Apparently my daughter's camera also adds more than 10 pounds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0