Off Road with Sean - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2024

Off Road with Sean

Sean texted me Saturday about doing a 12-mile loop on the Genessee River trail starting at the zoo.  I was out of town, attending my 35th college reunion.  But, I'd be back that night around 1am, so why not? You know how when you get together with old high school or college friends you devolve to behaviors from that time of life? I was staying with an old friend and we imbibed a bit too much.  We started at the Yard House, where another old friend, Jeff, shared his experience bike touring.  Key bit of advice from Jeff: keep your bicycle pump handy to ward off dogs.  Which reminds me: Dave is on his trek as of this writing--one of his attempts was thwarted by a dog that ended up hospitalizing him.  I'm going to take Jeff's advice.  

Anyway, despite the combination of Friday's alcohol and Saturday's drive and sleep deprivation, I made it to Sean's house by 9:30.  Sean knows bikes and biking, in part from his brother, in part from his own dive into it.  

We picked up the trail behind the zoo.  There were some steeps, some gnarly roots, and a bit of mud.  We saw a few deer.  I love riding through the woods.  Turns out we had accidentally gone off the trail off the road.  No worries, Sean got us back on track without me knowing any better.

River St. in Charlotte--the historic harbor district--looks fun.  Passed by the Whiskey River Pub--I had zero interest in alcohol.   It was a beautiful day.

On the harbor with Sean: clearly, I haven't lost weight (or his camera adds more than 10 pounds).
Heart 0 Comment 0



Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0