Around Honeoye Lake - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2024

Around Honeoye Lake

West Lake Road, Honeoye Lake, May 16th, 2024
Heart 0 Comment 0

This past Thursday I attempted the 75 mile round trip from Rochester to Honeyoye Lake, around the lake and back.  It was a beautiful day: I got started about 3 hours later than I wanted.  Instead of leaving around 8:30am, I left a little before noon.  After about 45 minutes, I realized I was enjoying coasting downhill more than I was suffering uphill climbs.  I realized that it was likely I'd experience the reverse on the return trip.

I took my first break here, at the southwest end of the lake:

Taking a Break Near the Southern Tip of Lake Honeoye
Heart 0 Comment 0

Drank a bit of water, then enjoyed a little Hopemade magic: it's a savory cookie, it's a heavy cracker--it's a crookie.  

Hopemade Crookie
Heart 0 Comment 0

Seriously, had a few of those--they're addictive.  Then continued on to the Twisted Rail brewery.  

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a 40 minute break at the brewery, I headed out.  Given the combination of my late start and the hills I was anticipating on the route back, I put in a call to my wife, letting her know I may need to get picked up.  I did walk up a couple of steep grades, but I made it back before 8pm.

It was a beautiful day.  There was very little traffic around the lake.  Approximately 75 miles in 8 hours.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0