Appreciation: Breeze and Trees - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2024

Appreciation: Breeze and Trees

Heart 0 Comment 0

For twenty-six years, almost every time I visited my in-laws, my father-in-law would break into the old popular jazz standard, "Tenderly," but just the first line, "The evening breeze, caressed the trees...  That's me sitting in a chair under a tree in front of Cheryl's gift shop yesterday.  Yesterday was a relatively easy 45 mile ride, though it was hot.  It was relatively easy in part thanks to Cheryl, that chair, and the tree.  In large part, starting the day on the Greenway Trail proved invaluable.  The trail is well-maintained and lined by trees.  I've only been riding seven days, and already I've come to appreciate certain so-called simple things more than ever.  Trees.  I love them.  I am now a full-blown, card-carrying tree-hugger.  Breeze--especially the breeze that comes from downhill riding.  As a toddler, my son taught me to appreciate the simple gifts of nature all over again: falling leaves, snowflakes.  Thomas, who I just met at the Winona post office, and my old friend Rob Lubas recently became fathers.  I'm sure they too will see some of life as new again, and come to appreciate simple gifts (especially sleep:).  Anyway, I'm trying to appreciate it all: the sun, the rain--a couple of days ago I loved getting caught in a downpour that chilled 3 days of heatwave out of my bones, the clouds, the breeze, the trees.  I'm having a little trouble appreciating the inclines.  I think I need to do what my daughter does: she turns everything into a game.  I need to turn the inclines into a game.  Anyway, below is a photo of the Greenway Trail.

Heart 0 Comment 0

  And yes, in both photos my eyes look tired--6 days and 400 miles of heat and hills got to me.  Today's day of rest has done me good, so I'll be on the road to Mansfield tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0