73 Miles on the Canal - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2024

73 Miles on the Canal

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today I rode 73 miles on the canal path.  My plan was to do 95, but I left at 11am instead of 7am.  At 11am there was a light drizzle.  That cleared up.  Saw a bit of wildlife.  A lot of geese--toddlers and their parents.  Of course, that meant trying to ride between all the goose droppings.  A few deer stood in the middle of the path and looked at me; perhaps my reflector reminded them of headlights.  They darted away when I got within 15  yards.  A sizeable turtle--shell was at least 15 inches long--was hanging outside a hole in the grass that may have been its home.  Some colorful birds flew across the path.  Of course, the ever present squirrels and chipmunks darted frenetically--one almost right under my tire.  

I have a playlist, Cyc-list 2024. It has more than 20 hours of music.  One world is enough by the Police came on.  And I thought, "It is--one world is enough for all humans, geese, turtles, ducks, birds, chipmunks, squirrels, snakes (one slithered across the path today) deer, and so on.  Some years back I read a report that concluded that if the average human lived like the average resident of  India, the earth could support 15 billion people; whereas if the average human lived like the average  American, the Earth could only support less the 5 billion. 

So, I guess one world is enough, IF...

Anyway, I rode about 32 miles east on the canal, through Schoen place, past Bushnell's Basin, through Fairport, past Macedon.  Then I turned around and headed back.  Stopped at The Purple Painted Lady for a break--see the next post.  I kept going westward, past the JCC and REI to the labyrinth that exists where the Canal path meets the Genesee Riverway trail.  Then I turned around and headed east to home.  But before leaving the Riverway trail, I snapped the below photos of kayakers.  It was another beautiful day.  Even though I didn't do 95 miles, I was pleased: after 44 miles yesterday, and 73 today, my legs felt good.  Today was the first day trying the Camelbak: it took a minute, but it worked well, kept the water cool all day.  My speed wasn't bad, especially considering that it was gravel, and I had to stop a few times to figure out where I was given the detour, etc.  I did the 73 in under 5 hours of riding.  

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0



Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0