The Plan - Californians go to Big Sky Country - CycleBlaze

The Plan

Rich and I are exploring the world once again with our friends, Jim Fitch and Genny Fox. For this summer adventure, we decided to stay closer to home (i.e. not hassle with shipping our bikes anywhere) and head to Montana.

Rich and I are driving our truck and will meet Jim and Genny, who are traveling by train, in Whitefish, MT. From there, we'll ride to Lake McDonald, and on the following day, if we're lucky, we'll ride the iconic Road to the Sun.

After that, over the following two weeks we'll make a big clockwise loop down to Polson and back up to Eureka, kissing the border of Canada. 

Best of all, because we have the truck, we won't have to ride with loaded bikes! Instead, we'll take turns driving, carrying luggage, providing sag if needed, and building in a rotation of rest days.

Our Big Sky Route
Heart 0 Comment 0

Genny will alsl blog about this trip, and you can read her blog here. Why are both of us blogging? I realized after our last journey that even though we're traveling together, we experience things differently. For example, we're not always riding together, or we notice different things—what's stands out to one person doesn't always stand out of another. So, I thought it would be fun to each share our experiences and link the two blogs for your reading pleasure. :-)

From our trip to NY last year. From left to right: Rich, me, Genny, and Jim
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kelly IniguezGenny is the best at spotting lilies. Isn't that an odd specialty?

We look forward to meeting you in a few days.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Amber StarfireTo Kelly IniguezI had no idea about this special talent of Genny’s. Rich and I are looking forward to meeting you, too! We’ve heard so much about your adventures together with Jim and Genny.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Andrea BrownYou'll be going through my old stomping grounds, the Bull River valley (Highway 56) and Libby. Enjoy, it is a beautiful time of year up there.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Amber StarfireTo Andrea BrownThanks. I haven’t been to Montana since I was a kid traveling with my mother (I don’t want to think about how long ago that was). And I’m really looking forward to it. The pictures of the area are stunning.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago