Final thoughts on Montana 2024 - Californians go to Big Sky Country - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2024

Final thoughts on Montana 2024

And a medical update

I've been home now for two days, with time to reflect on the events of the last few weeks. I feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to visit these northern parts of Montana, and more fortunate still to have such a great partner (Rich) and traveling companions Genny and Jim to share the tour. Rich and I have done several tours together with them and find that we're all pretty comfortable, compatible travel buddies. A roll with the flow group.

And so we rolled. I wish I hadn't been bitten by a dog. More than that, I wish I hadn't ended up with a broken collarbone. If I'd just been bitten, I could have continued the tour by bicycle. And I wouldn't have needed so much help doing the simplest of tasks (that feeling-like-a-burden thing that happens when you're dependent on others). But still, I'm glad I made the decision to stick it out and finish the tour as a passenger. Not only was I able to vicariously share in the experiences of the others, I continued, day after day, to be amazed and awed by the huge expanses of sky and land, the height of the mountain peaks, the stark, dramatic wildness, and of just how BIG everything is in Montana.

The people we met were friendly, and we managed to travel in "hostile political territory" (liberal Californians in Trump country) without one negative political interaction, which is saying something: When you remove tribalism from the equation, you find that we're all one big tribe; people are people; and we are all more alike than different. Wouldn't it be lovely if we could all just remember that?

Anyway, it was a great trip and I'd do it again in a heartbeat (minus the dog).

After waving goodbye to Jim and Genny, who were continuing on in Montana for a couple of days, Rich and I had a non-eventful 3-day drive home from Kalispell. It never rained on us, but the clouds were dark and dramatic all the way down to Shasta, where the California sun (and 90-degree heat) began to shine through.

Update on my collarbone injury: Two weeks to the day after the incident, I finally had an updated X-ray and visit with an orthopedist. I have a "comminuted fracture of the distal clavicle," which means the bone is broken into multiple pieces at the end of the clavicle closest to the shoulder. Looking at my specific situation, the doctor recommended against surgery and for immobilization and rest. So I'll continue life in a sling for the next 2-4 weeks, with physical therapy once they've determined the bone has healed sufficiently. "It'll take time and patience," the doctor said. I'm finding it very difficult to be less active than I'm used to. Wish me luck!

Here are a few pictures taken during our ride back to Napa.

Driving south, saying goodbye to Flathead Lake (on the left).
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some of the pretty pastures while driving through Elmo, MT
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking out the passenger window
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was taken by this landscape of neat rows of harvested hay.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Approaching Kennewick, our overnight stop at the end of our first day. We have definitely left the grandeur of Montana for the dry desert of eastern Washington.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Driving near Arlington, OR along the Columbia River. I'm not sure what mountain I'm see here...Mt. Hood perhaps?
Heart 2 Comment 2
Andrea BrownYes, that is Mt. Hood. She's pretty from every angle.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Amber StarfireTo Andrea BrownThanks. Thought so 😊
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Turning south on Hwy 97, away from the Columbia River, there are these ginormous windmill farms with ginormous windmills (look how small the buildings seem in relationship). If you've never traveled in this area, it's always windy, so it makes sense. The clouds and lighting were just right.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A little closer. I like how the clouds seem to swirl in the sky.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Farther on, driving through Kent. Nothing but desert scrub.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The long view to Bend, OR. Starting to see some pines again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grass Lake, OR. Literally a lake of grass. According to a historical marker at the park: There once was a lake here, along with a lakeside resort. But someone blew a hole in the bottom of the lake with some dynamite, and the water drained out through the porous volcanic rock, leaving a swampy wetland. Can you imagine?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another view of Grass Lake.
Heart 2 Comment 0
These cute chipmunks were all over Grass Lake rest stop. This one posed for me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
These little white flowers were all around the lake. Apple info tells me they are Blue Elderberry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mount Shasta from a distance, zoomed way in on the camera lens.
Heart 2 Comment 0
North of Shasta, the trees are all black, like burnt matchsticks, as far as the eye can see, and on the ground, these bright bunches of yellow flowers. New life bringing bright hope of recovery.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mt. Shasta, closer. Such a great view.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I finally had a chance to get close enough to some of the yellow flowers that I had been seeing everywhere in Shasta County. They are Erigonum umbellatum, commonly known as wild buckwheat or sulphur flower.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen JonesGlad you continued the trip, and that you’re home safe to do some healing. Hope it goes by fast and you’re back on a bike in no time.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonWhat a stunning gallery, Amber. It looks like the sky was amazing all the way south. Heal well.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Amber StarfireTo Kathleen JonesThanks, Kathleen. Me too!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Amber StarfireTo Scott AndersonThanks, Scott. Yes, the sky was definitely dramatic.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago