The Velomobiles - The Great Bavarian Velomobile Adventure - CycleBlaze

The Velomobiles

a W9 and Buelk meet in Bavaria....

Let's start first with a helpful primer.  For the uninitiated, you'll want to start with this informational video

Ok.  Now that you know what a velomobile actually is, let's talk about the actual bikes being abused, er, I mean ridden, in this adventure. You'll note first that I used the plural.  I'm being joined for the first week or so by another rider.  This will be my first time riding in Europe with anyone else.  That will add to the adventure, no doubt, as I'm accustomed to riding alone.

The rider joining me will be riding the relatively new Buelk velomobile.  This is a model that came out last fall.  It's designed by two german guys, Eggert Buelk and Jens Buckbesch.  These guys designed the Milan velomobile that have been widely viewed as the most efficient model until the last couple years when the tiny Snoek velomobile arrived on the scene.  While the Milan was more geared towards racing, the Buelk has taken a lot of the best features of the Milan and improved on them and oriented them towards a daily-driver scenario.  I obtained a Buelk in March and have been using it to commute in addition to my weekend fun rides.  It's a fantastic velomobile.  Very fast, efficient, climbs well, super comfortable, easy to adjust for other riders, good storage capacity.  It's a bike that makes you want to ride it. If you're either really curious or really bored, you can read a whole lot more about the Buelk here BÜLK MK1 | Velomobile World | Human Powered Vehicles

This is not the Buelk that will be joining me. That one is in the final stages of production at the Romanian factory.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I, however, will not be riding the Buelk.  I will be riding an Alpha W9.  Why?  Well, because.  Because I can.  The Buelk is my true love, but my true love has a limitation on tire width that proves tricky in the winter.  And yes, I ride velomobile in the winter.  Quite a lot, in fact.  That's what drew me to them in the first place.  I like to run tires with some tread in the winter and the Buelk doesn't really have room for that.  The W9 does.  Furthermore, I am part of a program to promote velomobiles as an alternative form of transportation in the US and this was an opportunity to bring another new model into the US for test rides (you can click here to learn more about the program Ambassadors | Velomobile World.) The W9 also happens to be lighter and even more efficient than my beloved Buelk, weighing in at 22kg, very light by velomobile standards.  

Not my W9, and not even my photo. Mine is also finishing production at the factory. Mine will be a sporty red. And it will have wheels too, which this photo definitely does not....
Heart 1 Comment 0

There's one potential downside to my choice of W9:  It's a brand new model.  By brand new I mean mine is number 4, as in only 4 have been made so far.  Even by velomobile standards that's not very many.  It's part of the Alpha 9 series of velmobiles.  The two larger models, the A9 and M9, have been in production for awhile, so it's not entirely new tech. There is some risk in touring with this new a model as it's possible there are little gremlins not yet worked out in the new series.  However, I know the factory owner pretty well, there are dealers around, and I did once build a velomobile.... Help is available if needed.  Actually, I think my route for the second week passes in the vicinity of the guy that designed this model. Of course I also tour with an extensive tool kit. Because the W9 is so new, there's not quite as much info as there is about the Buelk, but you can find what there is here W9 | Velomobile World | Human Powered Vehicles and here W9 Development | 18.03.2023 | Velomobile World

Both bikes are VERY efficient aerodynamically.  They have pretty good luggage capacity (only pack what I want to struggle uphill with....)  Excellent lighting system, sufficiently powerful drum brakes, easy access through access hatches for maintenance issues, good airflow, and most importantly, a lot of safety features in the event of an incident.  Crash zones, specially designed seats and seat support systems to absorb impact, cockpit edges that will help keep you in the vehicle without destroying your shoulders in the process, comfy headrests, and a very relaxed driving position. Once you've gone velomobiling, a bicycle just doesn't cut it anymore.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Mike AylingHi Ben
Could you comment on the choice of drum brakes over discs?

Thanks
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ben ParkeTo Mike AylingYes. This is a simple choice. Velomobiles, at least the main models, are only available with drum brakes. The new models coming fr on the Romanian factory all have enclosed wheeels. It gets very dirty in there and clearance is tight. To put a disc brake into that environment would be a challenge for fitment. Then there is the issue of how frequently you’d need to clean the disc, challenges reaching in there to adjust it when it invariably starts rubbing, and lack of airflow to cool the disc, you’re also asking a disc to stop a super aerodynamic vehicle that weighs 22-24kg without rider and payload. That’s a pretty big task. Down a mountain pass a verlombile can quickly hit speeds in excess of 100kmh. Any braking system is going to struggle with that. Drums at least take longer to overheat than discs do, at least from what I’ve been told. Essentially drums are used because supposedly they are the least bad of the bad options given the usage environment.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraThis is all very cool! I'm intrigued by this adventure! Chapeau!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago