To Brendan T Byrne State Forest - Winging it up the Atlantic Coast - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2024

To Brendan T Byrne State Forest

The sun is out this morning! We were spoiled by all the sunny days in Florida and the Carolinas. Here in the cooler New Jersey weather it's real cause for celebration. 

Wide bike paths take us back over the Intracoastal Waterway, continuing inland through the towns west of Atlantic City. In the neighborhoods we have lots of company on the path with other cyclists, runners, people pushing strollers and walking dogs. I love to see it.

There isn't much food available at the State Forest where we're going today except for Buszy's General Store in Chatsworth at mile 46. I figure we should be able to find something there for dinner as long as we get there before they close at 3:00. That seems very doable. 

Mike mentioned an ACME grocery store he was going to stop at for provisions. Such a goofy name, it makes me think of Wile E. Coyote and the roadrunner. I need some granola for breakfast so we swing by, watching out for coyotes on the way. I find my cereal there along with other good-looking candidates for dinner. Might as well lock that down so we won't have any time pressure getting to the place in Chatsworth. 

Expansive views of the Intracoastal Waterway from the roomy bike path
Heart 4 Comment 0
Gulls standing sentry
Heart 5 Comment 0
There are dozens of stop signs on the bike path between Linwood and Pleasantville. Signs exhort us to dismount and walk through all the intersections. Do people really do this?
Heart 1 Comment 2
Keith AdamsI never do either, and sometime I don't even make a complete stop. (Gasp!)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I had a fantasy that the warm weather in the southern states would just follow us up the coast. Bright green leaves of early spring remind me that we're a few hundred miles further north than at home in St. Louis. No wonder it's so cool.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Mike usually makes an early grocery stop, so we typically get ahead of him, and then get a sighting as he jets past. While taking the picture below I fail to notice the metal ring sticking up that used to hold a bollard. Most of them are cut off even with the ground. This one slices the tire when I roll over it. 

Barry can't believe I rolled right over that ring. He'll have to boot the tire.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Scott AndersonLucky it didn’t slice you! Impressive that you didn’t take a spill.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Janice BranhamTo Scott AndersonI am surprised at how many close calls I've had when I just barely managed to avoid crashing. I guess it's been awhile since the last fall because my bruises have all healed up.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Karen PoretTo Scott AndersonIt’s surprising that was not repaired ASAP. That is a true hazard!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Making quick work of the repair
Heart 3 Comment 0
"A Pathway to Peace" painted on the trail.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWow, how beautiful and what a great sentiment!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Janice BranhamTo Rachael AndersonI agree. I wish I knew the story behind this project.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Just past the Atlantic City airport, it's Barry's turn for a flat. The rear tube failed at the stem, so it's unpatchable. It turned out the spare tube he was going to use was for the small front tire. Fortunately there's a Dick's Sporting Goods three miles away. 

He speeds off on my bike to get a replacement that's the right size. My bike is set up a little short for him, but he rode it fine when we did the bike relay back in Florida.  

I'm glad we have dinner covered. Getting to the store in Chatsworth before 3 is looking doubtful.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Keith AdamsHaving different-sized tires on a bike is always a liability and a risk.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
In Egg Harbor City. From the bike path yesterday we didn't see any towns. Today we're getting more of a flavor of the communities.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Clouds on the Mullica River in Green Bank
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking back at the drawbridge over the river
Heart 2 Comment 0
The picnic shelter in Green Bank looked like a nice place to eat our lunch, except for all the wasps. I'm keeping my distance.
Heart 4 Comment 0
So surprising to see a big bike sign painted on the wide shoulder out here in rural New Jersey. Apart from the mechanical hiccups, we've had a great ride today.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The road into Brendan T. Byrne State Forest is full of soft sand. Mike got here first as usual and tried to give us a clue via text about a route to avoid it but I didn't see it in time. We skid around on the sand but manage not to fall over. Eventually we get to a paved road and find the campsite another 3 miles further. This state forest is huge. 

We're in the New Jersey Pine Barrens, part of the Atlantic coastal pine barrens system where the soil is too sandy and acidic for agriculture. The campground is beautiful, and in our experience bug-free, although there are tick warnings. Dirty, antiquated bathrooms are the only thing that mars the experience. This place deserves better.

Once the tent is set up Barry gets to work on his bike. He broke a spoke at some point today and his wheel is out of true. It's been a rough day mechanically.

Our heat-n-eat dinners from ACME Groceries are delicious. I have a Mediterrean salmon dish with orzo, spinach, feta, lemon and olives that's exceptional. Barry is just as happy with his sausage and peppers over penne. Chalk two up for the coyote.

It's a relief to find the paved road after a mile of this.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Karen PoretI can add mud to this here in the Netherlands..I am NOT a mountain bike gal…:(
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsTough riding indeed.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rough field repair on the wheel with the broken spoke
Heart 6 Comment 4
Kelly IniguezGood planning that you were carrying extra spokes!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Janice BranhamTo Kelly IniguezBarry did have an extra spoke but not the tools to remove the cassette in order to install it, so he did the best at truing it with a spoke missing. Luckily he found a bike shop the next day that fixed it up. Hopefully I'll get that day posted by tomorrow.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsI carry a FiberFix spoke that I hope never have to try. Need to add the cassette lock ring tool to my on-the-road kit.

If your Bike Fridays are fitted with Capreo rear hubs, you'll definitely want to carry the Capreo-specific lock ring tool- bike shops likely won't have one and I'd bet a month's pay (*) that most LBS mechanics don't even know such a thing exists...

(*: I'm retired, so a month's pay is $0. Don't go making grandiose plans on how you'll spend your ill-gotten winnings.)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Janice BranhamTo Keith AdamsI have no idea what kind of hubs are on my bike Friday but now I'm curious, will have to check when we get home.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

We have a friendly camp neighbor tonight - Jim from Vineland New Jersey, about 50 miles south of here. Jim is on a shakedown ride with a new lightweight motorbike that he got for off-road riding. He's testing out all new gear too, going for stuff that's lightweight, multi-purpose and waterproof. I'm always on the hunt for that kind of gear.

Jim has a sailboat that he keeps in Ocean City near where we stayed last night. He is also deep into surfing, especially in the fall after the crowds leave and the water is still warm. Hearing that Mike is a whitewater boater, he suggests trying a wave ski, which is a surfboard that you sit on and control with a kayak paddle. It's popular with the whitewater crowd. Mike says he wants to give surfing a go standing up. I think the wave ski sounds awesome.

Great to meet you Jim!
Heart 6 Comment 2
James WilsonGreat writing Janice. The friendliness of like-minded people makes travel less lonely…….even for a loner. I’m looking forward to following your adventures. 😊
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Janice BranhamTo James WilsonThanks Jim! I hope your shakedown went well and the trails were all flowy. Enjoy the dirt.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

I have all my layers on but once the sun goes down it cools down fast so we  retreat to the tent. Looking over the loose plan for how we'll get to Provincetown, it's strange to think we have less than two weeks left on our tour. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 2,050 miles (3,299 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonI remember my mother shopping at ACME in West Orange, N.J. I haven't heard the name for a long time. Funny how a single word can conjure up so many memories.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Janice BranhamTo Suzanne GibsonThat's so true Suzanne. The word chamber shoots me back to when I was in grade school and my Dad would supervise my sister and I in our piano practice the night before our weekly piano lesson. We called it Tuesday night torture chamber. There were tears.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago